We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramarye Suites B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gramarye Suites B&B to your Saves list
Gramarye Suites B&B
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Coach Road, Whitby YO22 5AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£85 ROOM RATE PER NIGHT
Ranked #5 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just returned from an excellent weekend, not the first time we have used this B&B. Beautifully clean rooms, well appointed. Have never slept so well in a strange bed, even
on a first evening. Breakfast outstanding, nothing too much trouble. Plenty of selection,
both hot breakfasts and cold plates.

We believe this is one of North Yorkshire's hidden gems and truly deseves its five star
rating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
193
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundesley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Arrived for a 5 days break after reading all the brilliant reviews on here and thought to myself nowhere can possibly be that perfect, there must be something to find fault with, but surprise, surprise, there wasn't.

We were welcomed at the door by Molly and shown to our room, the Garden Room on the ground floor. The room was big and had a massive bathroom with a walk in shower with the most powerful shower I've ever had. The bed was really comfortable with expensive white bedding, the towels in the bathroom were white, thick and fluffy but the thing which sets this place apart from the rest are the little extra special touches. Two bottles of water appeared in the fridge every day, loads of fresh fruit appeared in the room every day, plus there was loads of choice of coffee/tea and fresh milk was left in the room daily.

Breakfast was surperb too, freshly squeezed orange juice, home made bread, tasty cooked breakfast, cooked by Molly and all served by John who offered us daily tips on where to go and how to get there.

Cant speak too highly of this couple or their B & B and cant wait to return next year.

Well done Molly & John and thankyou.

Diane & Tony.

Room Tip: Garden Room is on the ground floor and has a wow bathroom/shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here for three days after a hectic visit to Scotland. It was so peaceful - it is located in a quiet avenue with no through traffic, yet is easily acessible from the main road. There is a good pub, bakery, village store and fish & chip shop within walking distance. The rooms are very well appointed - good quality mattress & bedding and lovely towels. The breakfast was about the best we've ever had - homemade bread too. John & Molly looked after us brilliantly - nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The upstairs room at the back is probably the quietest (and has a Goth theme)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

we have been made so welcome when we get there, and nothing is to much trouble .
as for the rooms they are the best, the garden room with it`s walk in shower and the king size bed, and the breakfast room is good and you can see the garden from it.
it is a bit of magic when you come here , we come here 2 times a year .
the Gothic room with it`s four-poster bed and corner bath it `s just so good you
never wot to go home!!

Room Tip: the Garden Room , it`s on the ground floor and next to the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I took a bit of a gamble booking us in here for the weekend since my other half, Grahame, had never visited Whitby or the surrounding area before and had also never stayed in a B&B. However I booked us in at the Gramarye Suites after having read so many wonderful reviews about it and can honestly say we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived to a lovely warm welcome from Molly, to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble. Molly and her husband, John, were delightful and were happy to recommend nearby places to visit and ensure we made the most of our time there. We stayed in the delightful Faerie Suite, which had all those extra little touches that made us feel at home - soft, white towels and bedding, lovely toiletries in the bathroom, platter of fresh fruit in our room, mini fridge with fresh milk and bottled water, satellite TV, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. Breakfast was a real treat - beautiful fresh fruit salad, homemade bread, croissants and jam, freshly squeezed orange juice and Grahame said the cooked breakfast was the best he'd ever had! I thought Molly's homemade strawberry and mint jam was exquisite (and she very kindly sent me home with a jar of it when I told her so!). The Gramarye Suites are located a couple of miles outside of Whitby, but was only a 10-minute bus ride away, which was ideal for us as it meant we could escape the crowds and the noise for a lovely peaceful sleep. All in all we had a wonderful break here and, not only would we stop here again, we would happily recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights as a treat for my husbands birthday, we were greeted by a lovely lady, Molly, who runs the guest house with her husband John. The room was beautiful, very clean, with lots of facilities. There was ground coffee, a cafitiere, and a fridge with fresh milk and bottled water.
Breakfast was just fabulous, the sausages were the best I've ever tasted, the bread was still warm (Molly bakes it!!!) and the marmalade and jam were exquisite, apparently Molly makes them too!! Paid £180 for 2 nights, well worth it, and what lovely people.
Easy access to Whitby too, a bus is just over the road, will stay again, thankyou!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights and we had a wonderful stay. We were treated exceptionally well and both John and Molly we lovely hosts. I have a couple of food allergies and they went out of their way to ensure I was able to eat. All food was to a high quality standard. The room was beautiful and the shower a refreshing delight to wake you up. All needs are catered for in the room and the bed was ever so comfy. Overall a wonderful stay and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gramarye Suites B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramarye Suites B&B

Address: 15 Coach Road, Whitby YO22 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramarye Suites B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gramarye Suites is an official 5 Star award Gold Award (Visit Britain) B&B. All rooms have four poster, high post or feature king size beds, en suites, flat screen satellite TV, fridge, safe etc. Warm and friendly hosts, excellent award winning breakfast menu. We strive to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as we possibly can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gramarye Suites B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gramarye Hotel Whitby
Gramarye Suites Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramarye Suites B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.