We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Save
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
STOCKTON ON TEES
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to have organised our wedding reception at the Marine a year ago today so going back was potentially going to be a risky venture. We needn't havw worried everything was as good as we remembered.

The food,service and comfort was as before truly exceptional. Once again Chloe thanks to you and your team for making our first anniversary such a memorable one!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    61
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
212
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If great service, fresh seafood imaginatively presented and beautifully cooked is your thing then The Marine will not leave you disappointed.We eat here regularly and always enjoy our meal.An added bonus is the great range of aperitifs and cocktails if you fancy one and all expertly mixed.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in room 3 on a Sunday night and couldn't have been more impressed with everything in the hotel. The view over the harbour from the window is outstanding, the room was so comfortable with everything anyone could ever need.
It was great to call in the morning and get a fresh coffee delivered to your room 2 minutes later at no extra charge.
The breakfast was out of this world with proobably too much choice!!
We ate in the restaurant on the Sunday evening and have to say that the seafood was delicious, we were thoroughly spoiled with oysters, lobster and fresh fish.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone and am looking for an excuse to go back now!

Room Tip: Room 3 was comfy with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Husthwaite, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food and the staff were excellent!
Unfortunately the rooms are very tired, broken lock on door, torn dirty sofa and the MOST uncomfortable mattress!
Has issues with sound proofing too, or lack of! Woken at 6am by the sound of people using a bathroom/toilet above our room

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in Room 2 - a lovely room, with a lounge area and balcony, and a mezzanine bedroom, so we had plenty of space to relax. The weather wasn't that great, although it didn't spoil our weekend at all, but it was nice to have a lovely room to relax in and read the papers. The tea/coffee service was superb, all the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely, bright and clean, top marks to the cleaner. The position is ideal too, right next to the harbour, and therefore very close to the shops and restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and so booked a night away at the sister hotel of the Marine, at the Moon & Sixpence just a few doors down from the Marine.

Our room (no.6) was absolutely stunning. Having stayed in hotels around the world of all standards this was without a doubt one of the most spacious, well appointed luxury rooms we've had. Truely spoilt us. No car park was not a problem as there was plenty of free parking up the hill a few mins walk away. The huge jacuzzi bath positioned at the end of the living area was great, the ultra modern bathroom was superb & the extra touch of a few dvds to watch on the dvd player was really well thought out too. Excellent views from bed across the bay and upto the abbey. Breakfast was included and was served upto 12 down in the lovely modern bar downstairs (from which we heard no noise at all) however due to us trying to save room for a fish and chip lunch we did not take. I cannot recommend the Moon and Sixpence enough and cannot wait to return again one day soon for another relaxing break away. All my friends have been wowed by my photos and already want to go too!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Another visit to enjoy fantastic fish and chips. Crispy, tasty thin batter covering soft and moist fish plus hot crunchy chips a perfect seaside lunch. Busy buzzy atmosphere very friendly staff overall a lovely lunch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.