We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Save
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in room 2 and had a lovely time at the Marine Hotel.

Room 2 has a big spacious lounge with a couple of very comfy sofas. The view out of the double windows takes in the harbour and the opposite side of the town including the church on the hill. This is a vista to die for and we spent many a happy hour with a glass of wine watching the action in the harbour unfold (I don't think we turned the flat screen TV on once during our stay).

Upstairs is a spacious mezzanine with a comfy, well dressed, double bed. Downstairs there is a large bathroom with a double sized walk in shower (the downside was that it had a distinct and unpleasant "musty" smell which we mentioned to the management and no doubt this will be sorted out shortly).

The furnishings are modern, stylish and have a touch of design flair - this is a proper "boutique" hotel. There is also a small private terrace with a table for two which is perfect for coffee on sunny morning (you get the sun on the opposite side of the harbour in the evening).

The rooms don't have tea or coffee making facilities but you can call down to the bar any time after 8am and they will bring you up a very nice, freshly made cup of coffee. There is an ice bucket which the friendly staff will fill up, and they will also provide you with a couple of flutes, should you feel the need to bring along a bottle of fizz. Other nice touches are the white bathrobes, Elsyl products, bottled mineral water and free wifi

If you don't fancy breakfast in your room then you will eat in the pretty bar. There is a good selection of all the breakfast classics; well cooked and nicely presented. I can highly recommend the Whitby kipper which was just delicious. If you don't fancy venturing out in the evening the dinner menu looked very tasty but I'd make sure to book ahead as this is a popular dining spot.

If you are a light sleeper I would pack a pair of ear plugs as there is a fair bit of noise from the seagulls and the early morning departure of the fishing boats (strangely the windows in the lounge have been double glazed but not the mezzanine windows). A sleeping mask might also be an idea if you need a dark room as the blinds let in plenty of light on a sunny morning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    64
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
231
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

It was simply gorgeous! We stayed in room 4 and it was amazing! I had a long soak in the free standing bath which was v relaxing after travelling up in the pouring rain. Although the weather was not good at all we still managed to have a lovely stay.

Breakfast was lovely and v friendly staff! We will be staying here again when the weather picks up and we highly recommend it here!

Location is the best and although parking is a short walk away it never bothered us too much with the hotel being on the main strip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews we decided to wait until room one was available and I am so glad we did. staff made us very welcome immediately with an early check in and tray of tea in the room.

The view over the harbour is stunning, we had booked dinner in the hotel/ bar restaurant and lucky we did as every other table was full, even at 6.30 pm, I ordered the fish platter, beautifully cooked salmon, sea bass, cod, haddock, prawn and scallop with salad and new potatoes, my husband had the large cod ( huge with thin crispy batter) and said it was the best he had ever eaten! We were going to try out a few pubs in the area, but decided there was no better view than our balcony, so sat out there with a drink and listened to the singer/ pianist playing in the bar downstairs and watched the boats go in and out and the other tourists stroll by.

The bed was really comfortable, and if there was any small complaint, it's what has been mentioned before - it wouldn't suit everyone to have the shower in the bedroom, but as we were celebrating our 19th anniversary saw nothing we haven't seen before! the other is the fact there is no kettle in the room, the staff were more than happy to bring up complimentary hot drinks, but we thought ten at night was as late as we dare ask and when I woke at 5 am to take photos of the sunrise would have loved a drink then, but thought it was out of the question to try and locate staff at that unsocial hour ( no matter how obliging!)

Breakfast was just as delicious as our evening meal, good quality sausage and bacon, well cooked egg and lots of toast, with lots of choice and again the staff couldn't do enough to help.

There is no doubt we will go back and I would recommend this place wholeheartedly if you are visiting Whitby.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked Room 1, for Whitby the rooms are pricey but head and shoulders above any other place we have stayed at in town. Breakfast choices were overwhelming, staff very friendly & to top it all the sun was shining.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had an overnight stay and found the whole place a real treat. We stayed in room 4 and it was an excellent experience. The breakfast of smoked haddock, wilted spinach and poached egg was first class. I would recommend it to anyone for a Whitby break.

Room Tip: Room 4.is spot on, big and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed one night and couldn't have asked for more. The room was spotless, the staff were attentive and the whole experience was great. Room 2 has a mezzanine level for the bed giving it a feel of an apartment rather than just a room. Will definitely be going back. If I had to gripe at anything it was the window cleaner that was outside our first floor window when I came out of the shower in a towel!! I felt staff could have warned any guests who hadn't yet checked out that they would be there. Lucky for him that I had the towel on!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 has it's own terrace and beautiful views over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

we stayed in room 1 for a couple of nights. The best thing is the balcony and the view of the harbour and abbey. Mind you, you are in a bit of a goldfish bowl so beware you don't give the passing trawler men an eyeful as you exit the shower. Of course you could always pull down the Roman blinds first, but hey live dangerously. The room is clean, tidy and trying to be boutique. It does teeter on the edge of kitsch at times. Mind you that isn't always a bad thing. Watching the ancient 'clairvoyant, friend to the stars' open up her shed just below your settee in the morning raises a titter.Check the ancient porthole window in the WC [ See picture].That made me chuckle too. Anyway a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.