We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ditto Restaurant

Ditto Restaurant
26 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AJ, England
01947 601404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 166 restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

l booked Ditto's months ago for the Goth weekend, we have been to Ditto's several times before and have never been disappointed, we were booked for the Thursday & Saturday just because we know it is so good, as the chef knew we were back on Saturday he prepaired the most beautiful 'mushroom stuffed pumpkin' that was out of this world. This restaurant is 1st class, we can't rate it enough, the food, the owners & staff all are excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    409
    44
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire,UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our Guest House recommended this place. We where glad we choose it, a fantastic choice of food and wine. All sourced locally and cooked to perfection. The waitress was local and great to chat to. A very relaxed place and because it's only small more homely. A little gem of a place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate my wife Anita's 50th Birthday whilst we stayed in Whitby, We chose Ditto because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The food and service were both excellent. One of the best meals we have ever had!!

Our advice would be to book early, this resturant can only get more popular and space is limited. If we ever go back to Whitby it will be the first thing we do book our table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENISTONE SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food was out of this world & the atmosphere in the restaurant was very romantic. The staff were very friendly & helpful. If we are ever in Whitby again would definitely book & go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent? No. Very very good? Most definitely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Went to Ditto on the back of the tripadvisor reviews. Not disappointed. My pigeon breasts with black pudding was very good. Would've looked better with the pudding diced, not in a round - and the breasts 30 seconds overdone. Lamb was fabulous and cheese was good. Service friendly and the restaurant was full on a wet Wednesday in October. If I lived in Whitby, I'd eat there a lot.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ditto Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ditto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ditto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.