We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days at Harry's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie

Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
10-11 Pier Rd, Whitby YO21 3PU, England
01947 601909
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 176 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Bar, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy days at Harry's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This was our second stay at Harry's and we can honestly say it will not be our last! We always look at tripadvisor before booking restaurants and had we taken on board a couple of inaccurate reviews, we would have missed out on a little gem! The food was fantastic and the idea of choosing several 'starters' is great. The portion sizes were far bigger than we expected and it was all supplied with a huge plate of fresh bread. Having said this, if you do not fancy this option there is also the availability of a full main menu selection too. Even on the starter menu, My husband could not manage a dessert and I had to try really hard to squeeze in the mini selection of desserts of my own choosing (the home made white chocolate ice cream is to die for!) ALL Harry's staff are brilliant. They are welcoming, attentive and funny (one girl in particular has a fantastic sense of humour and kept us laughing constantly .......you know who you are!!! Can't wait to go back later in the year and have already booked! Well done Harry's!!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    126
    33
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I would never put my family through that experience again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

After spending a pleasant day around Sandend and Whitby with my daughter and grandchildren. The children were getting hungry so we called in at Harry's. We have never felt so unwanted in our lives. The waitress was unhelpful and rude with the grandchildren so much so that my daughter was getting very upset and ended up not ordering at all. We asked if the children could have chips with their sausages and she point blank refused, even though we were having the fish and chips. On reflection we should have taken her hint and gone to the local fish and chip shop down the road. We could not wait to get out.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“confused!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

after being told about their 'system!!!' i was totally confused and then told 'ho you get used to it' this wasn't helpful!! it is a real shame because the quality of the food is very good, but works out very expensive for miniscule portions and you can be made to feel quite stupid when all you really want is to spend good money on good food, the staff were freindly enough after the initial ordering problem, but i wouldn't rush back unless they changed their system, may be starter portions and main portions and priced accordingly? £20 per person for 2 small! starter portions is a little expensive, we had to fill up on bread, a real shame!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An ideal end to a day in Whitby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We'd had a solid day of walking round Whitby and wanted somewhere with a decent atmosphere - not too much 'pub' or 'fish and chip restaurant' with a god range of food and drink. We stumbled by chance on Harry's and were so glad we did. Could only get a table for 9.15 but when we turned up early for a drink they remembered us and said that a cancellation meant a table was ready when we were - but no rush! Cocktails in the bar while we pored over the menu. I love the idea of everything in starter-size portions so you can mix and match as you choose. The moules marinieres were an excellent choice, as was the seafood chowder, and not wanting to miss out on meat I chose the ribs which were wonderful. The service was friendly and the staff were solicitous as to our wellbeing and enjoyment without being over the top. We came out replete without being stuffed and the price was reasonable given the level of service, the food and drink consumed and the excellent, laidback atmosphere backed by a wonderfully eclectic music mix. Well done, Harry's Lounge Bar

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty poor performance all in all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We visited Harry's on saturday night at 8pm (without a booking which I know we should have but it was a last minute trip to Whitby for my birthday). We were told to come back in at 9.30pm, which we did and still had to wait until 10pm to be seated. As it was by birthday my friends let the staff know, although they shrugged which the response of 'ok'.

The menu looked great and when asked how many dishes would be suitable (they are served as starter/tapas sized portions, the member of staff wasn't very helpful. 2 of us ordered the king prawns, only to be told 10 minutes later they had sold out so i ordered something different from the menu. When all the dishes came, 3 of our dishes were wrong, and when we addressed this to the staff they were quite rude (apart from 1 waitress who was very pleasant). They brought us the correct dishes, 15 minutes later.

When the bill came we realised we hadn't even recieved a certain dish at all and brought this up (bearing in mind there were so many changes to our order in the first place). The waiter asked us if we were sure if we hadn't eaten it accidently!!! I assured i hadn't and he finally took it off the bill (£8). The atmosphere in the reasturant was lovely and i really would like to give this place another go because the food was actually delicious.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.