We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab gluten free” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Royal Whitby Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fab gluten free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is situated in a fantastic place,the view does not get much better.On our arrival at the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff,rooms were available from 3pm.The outside of the hotel looks a little tired and could do with a lick of paint,inside is a little dated ,but there were decorators working whilst we were there.We were on the third floor without a sea view,this was not a problem as upgrades were available.This hotel does not have a large lift,it only fits 2 people in with small cases,which can be a problem if booking in with a large party.Be patient.We were in rooms 315 and 319 these rooms were very spacious,clean and looked like they had been spruced up a bit.Not bad at all we were quite pleased after reading rubbish reports...Dinner was nice,the food nicely cooked and the waiters did an excellent job,nothing was too much trouble.My mum has a gluten free diet,on our arrival arrangements had been made for her to discus her diet..this was excellent,making mums trip a bit more relaxed knowing the chef actually understands the importance of gluten free diets.Breakfast was also of good quality and choice,service was as good as the evening meal,with pleasant staff throughout our stay.In the evening there was no entertainment on,this was a bit of a let down but we walked down into the center,the walk is fine going down but a bit of a hike back if your not very fit.Taxi cost £4.20 ,worth it..For the amount we paid for bed,breakfast and evening meal we could not fault it and would recommend it to any average person,who does not expect 5* from a 3* hotel.We will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review from your comments it would appear you enjoyed your stay with us. Rooms 315 & 319 were indeed refurbished late last year with many more being done this year. Whilst the lift is a bit small for the size of the building it copes very well in general with demand. I will pass your comments onto both our kitchen and waiting staff, I’m pleased your mum was well looked after. At the moment Sunday is the only night of the week when we don’t have entertainment unfortunately but this will be re-instated from the end of this month. We hope you would choose to stay with us again at the Royal.
Vicki Glen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    229
    117
    62
    41
See reviews for
79
312
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

With the Royal Hotel standing above the harbour the Abbey can be seen as you stand beside the imposing statue of Captain Cook who sadly lost his life on the Big Island at Hawaii.
The Whalebone' Arch sits at the top of the steps which leads one down to the town of Whitby with it's Swing Bridge where a short walk across will find plenty of quint shops including a jewellers that sell the famous JET stones, the highly polished black semi precious stone.
If it's really fine fish and chips you hanker for then this is the place to visit ! Other sea foods abound too so take your pick.
The Royal Hotel although built many years ago is a good place to start your holiday and a parking space can be reserved in advance for £5 or there is a free hotel parking area also at the rear of the hotel but can be hard to get a space sometimes. It has been Sunny on both times I have been and stayed in Whitby with it's clean bracing fresh air as a good tonic to enjoy.

Room Tip: A Sea View if possible to look out over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your review. As you say Whitby is a lovely little town steeped n local history with some of the best fish and chips in the world. We hope to welcome you back to the Royal soon and please be sure to bring the sunshine again.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After reading a few not so good reviews we were pleasantly surprised. Reception was efficient, friendly and informative.
Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Decent bathroom - bath and shower.
The Whitby Town Tour bus leaves outside the hotel and returns you to the door.(£4 for 24 hours)
The hotel is across the road from the famous whalebones and Captain Cook's statue.
Views from our bedroom (143) were stunning - the Abbey, the sea etc.
Entertainment was good. Food varied and adequate.
We were there with Shearings and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. I’m pleased to see we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. The greatest compliment is when guests say they will stay again and we look forward to welcoming you when you do.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from a great weekend break, the staff are friendly and welcoming in all areas of the hotel. The food was very good with plenty of choice and we thought that the amount of food was just right. Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped and we had upgraded to a sea view and that was well worth the extra money. The only downside to the room was that the bathroom was a little "tired" and would benefit from an upgrade and the shower was awkward to set the right temperature. The position of the hotel is the best in Whitby and for the price of this package for Bed, Breakfast and 3 course Evening meal also the best we would say. I do feel that the complaints on the previous review are unfounded especially with regards to the food. We will certainly return for another weekend hopefully in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. It would appear we ticked the boxes throughout and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. We will address the issues you’ve highlighted in the bathroom. I couldn’t agree more that the hotel is in a fantastic location enjoying some of the best views of the east coast. I’m pleased you found your break to be good value for money and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal in the not too distant future.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Little dated but seems to be having some refurbishment. Waiter did well to cope with customers alone, pleasant bar staff. Nice clean ample room. Great view over the bay the 2 day stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you have so rightly commented we are fully committed to the ongoing refurbishment works with a number of bedrooms and ballroom being done so far this year with more planned for over the next couple of months. We hope to see you again here at the Royal.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I have returned home after a lovely long weekend at the royal hotel .We all know it needs up dating but I think that's part of its charm. For what it costs you there should be no complaints ,the staff are great the food ok the entertainment is not bad ,but the hotel is in the most beautiful setting in a most beautiful little seaside town you will ever see.

Room Tip: ask when booking for a lower floor with seas view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for your 5* review these are always a pleasure to receive. As you mentioned many times we are committed to the refurbishment of the hotel whilst maintaining much of its charm. I will pass your comments to all the team.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel is clean but needs to be updated which you can see they are doing but rather than waiting to modernise a full room complete basic maintenance repairs should be completed. The bath rail in room 243 has seen better days and full of rust and when you hold on to its sharp and leaves your hand covered in rust, this should be picked up and reported by housekeeping to replace
Having said the above ,when I reported the head board had fallen off in the middle of night and produced the screw the next morning it was fixed very quickly but a note to maintenance ,it would have been even better if he removed the shavings from the bed and actually hoovered the mess up from the floor.
The food is often Luke warm when it arrives and according to the waiter, special requests can not be met as the meals are served straight onto a hot plate and issued from the kitchen . The food appears to be catered to the elderly and the portions are poor in size and nothing can be changed. I like your previous guest thought the breakfast was poor in quality and size and was never offered fruit toast. On the second morning I requested beans,poach egg and toast and was advised they did not provide beans if you ordered poach egg on toast. I offered to pay extra but was advised again it comes straight of the hot plate and no changes can be made.
The ballroom has a lovely feel to it and the entertainment was good both nights but did not appear to be organised but this may have been due to the manager being on holiday but both acts were very good and catered for all ages. The bad point is ,one bar person serving 150 plus people which is not acceptable and I really did feel sorry for the bar man at the end of the ending. We were in a que for over twenty minutes at one stage and left to use the other bay which was no better as I had to que 15 minutes.
On a positive note all staff were friendly and helpful and the check in was very good.
I would stay again due to the location of the hotel but make sure I upgraded and paid for a better room which I did try after seeing my room but unfortunately no rooms were left. I would also not book any meals and eat at the many restaurants available in Whitby .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiGlen, General Manager at Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your mixed review. The maintenance issues raised have been addressed and we apologise for the inconvenience caused however it is very unusual for our maintenance team to leave mess behind. Whilst our menu is prepared prior to service, all is plated to order so I am very concerned as to the confusion over breakfast – our breakfasts are more often than not tweaked to guests requests. Our entertainment team have been here for quite some time and on the whole put across a very professional offering. I will pass your kind comments onto all the team. Should you choose to book again, perhaps one of our superior or premier rooms would be more to your liking. We hope you would consider staying with us again.
Vicki Glen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Royal Whitby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Whitby Hotel

Address: West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Whitby, with breathtaking views of Whitby Abbey and the sea, the Royal is steeped in intriguing history and heritage. Many of the hotel bedrooms are front facing and have superb views thanks to the hotel’s cliff top position. This is an extremely popular hotel that has many returning customers thanks to its warm and friendly welcome and great hospitality. The entertainments suite offers a great variety of entertainment and guests can also enjoy the marvellous views from the comfortable restaurant and bar. The Royal Hotel is in an ideal location, just a few minutes from the famous harbour and shops. Whitby is a traditional maritime town and with its old cobbled streets, picturesque houses and sandy blue flag beach, it is a great place for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Royal Whitby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Royal Whitby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.