We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prospect House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Prospect House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Prospect House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prospect House Bed and Breakfast
23 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 143 Whitby B&B and Inns
Durham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The weather matched the warmth of our accomodation and our hostess last weekend when we stayed here.
Really comfortable and clean rooms and a cracking breakfast.
Plenty of parking and a short stroll into town.

Room Tip: Traffic noise in the front of house rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I were working for a week in Whitby and we were so glad that we found this B&B. The room was amazing - huge bed, comfy sofa, en-suite, TV with DVD player (+films to choose from). There was a busy road nearby but we very quickly ceased to notice.
I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfasts - they were a great set up for a long working day. The highlight at breakfast was a big bowl of fresh fruit salad. When my wife (Olga) asked for some variation to the breakfasts on offer there was no problem. You just ask Wendy - and if it is reasonable and possible she will do it!
Olga also needed to work on her computer and again every effort was made to make her comfortable.
We love Whitby and our next visit to prospect house will be for a HOLIDAY!

Room Tip: Ask for the superior suite - only if you don't mind a bit of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I'm sure there are other good B&Bs in Whitby but it's always a gamble whether the one you book is any good. A warm welcome, clean, comfortable, well appointed, great breakfast, a short 10-15 minute walk into town: what more could you want?
But it was also clear from the attention to detail in the little things that the proprietor cares about her business and her customers. The quality of pictures on the walls, the little snacks on the tea tray....... Not significant in themselves but a clear indication that the owner has care and consideration for her customers.
So, for us, whenever we visit Whitby we will be staying with Wendy - we're not gamblers and Wendy offers a dead cert!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyingham, Hull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lovely, welcoming landlady, clean and bright room, good breakfast. It was just the mattress!!! we could feel every spring. A memory foam topper would do the trick. Would still recommend though.We had the top -floor bedroom which was spacious and airy with plenty of hanging space for our clothes and shoes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton Cheney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our proprietress, Wendy, was a most welcoming host. I tried the kippers for breakfast and Wendy made play of her early morning trips to sea. This typically friendly light-heartedness set each day off on the best possible footing. She also recommended a beautiful coastal walk and a couple of most interesting places to visit.
We were more than happy with a warm, clean and well appointed room which, with little thoughtful touches from Wendy, made for a most happy time spent in Whitby, itself a great centre for a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

just got back from another wonderful stay , this time there was my elderly mum with us . have to say the wonderful Wendy went out of her way to see that mum had all she needed , and even brought her a comfy chair in so she could watch the tv in comfort ! as ever, fabulous brecky , with nothing being to much bother even when mum didnt want what was on offer Wendy went out of her way to get her something else . easy parking which is great !! lovely comfy beds and spotlessy clean , Wendys standards are wonderfully high , mum was sorry we had to leave, as were we both and we will definetley be returning !!

Room Tip: superior room is at the front of the house and the bed is huge !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were made so welcome by Wendy , there were no rules and times to be in etc just "have a lovely time"
We really loved all the little thoughtful touches Wendy does, you only need your personal clothes ect all the rest is there waiting for you. There is plenty of Free parking which is unusual in Whitby.We just parked up and didn't move for all the time we were there.
The breakfasts are lovely.Our room was beautiful very nicely decorated. The whole house is very modern and tasteful.
It is a short walk into Whitby and you can walk along the Cinder Path which is only 2 minutes away this is a beautiful natural pathway and you meet lots of very friendly people walking too.I would recommend this Band B to anyone, Wendy is a lovely person and would do anthing to make your stay comfortable.
It

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room at the back of the house,the front rooms are on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prospect House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Prospect Hill, Whitby YO21 1QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Prospect House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospect House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.