We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riftswood B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riftswood B&B
Save
You added Riftswood B&B to your Saves list
5 Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Nights for Price of 2
Ranked #9 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just got back from a stay at the Riftswood in Whitby, I don' often stay in b&b's as I am quite a fussy customer but I felt nothing but comfortable here and Pete and Paula go above an beyond to make sure their guests are well looked after and have everything they need, including being kind enough to offer us a lift into town with our heavy luggage after our stay.
On arrival we were welcomed with wine and beer, the offer of fruit cake, and hugs from Denzil the dog which was exactly what was needed after a 5 hour bus journey!
The room was clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated, and well stocked every day with biscuits and chocolates.
The delicious breakfasts were a highlight of our trip.
I would recommend the Riftswood to friends and if we return to Whitby will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
129
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent B&B stayed here for the April Goth weekend.Was greeted with a warm welcome from the owners and Denzel the dog plus the offer of a cup of tea/wine and a slice of cake. The room was spacious with plenty of storage for our Motorbike clothing helmets etc. Everything was clean and tidy ,plus there was tea coffee,hot chocolate ,biscuits and a couple of Lindor chocs thrown in for good measure. It's the little things that count. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful ,and Paula and Pete offer a pre-order service which is a good idea, so order what you want to eat. The location was perfect for us . I would definitely recommend this B&B

Room Tip: we went for the superior double which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at Riftswood B&B July 2012- and it was brilliant. Even though our bedroom had a WC in a separate room, it didn't compromise the stay. The rooms were clean and amiable- their pictures on their website do not do them justice. The hosts were all you could hope for, and more. Breakfast was one of the best I've experienced.
We celebrated my partner's birthday whilst on our 2 day trip in Whitby and were pleasantly surprised to see a small bottle of wine, a card and small cake for us in the room.
Not even a 5 minute walk to the cliffs and a 10 minute walk into the centre I would defiantly recommend this B&B and would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the riftswood on the 16 17 and 18th of Feb, when we arrived we were given a lovely welcome by Pete and Paula and were treated to a glass of wine and a piece if cake, it came up in conversation that my wife only drinks decaf tea unfortunately they didn't have any, the next day they had been out and bought some and even left some in our room. I am a very hard person to please but this B & B and this lovely couple made our stay one to remember. Daniel & Donna

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This review is probably an echo of the many others already on here but I wanted to reiterate how good this place is. The Riftswood is a lovely B&B run by the most welcoming and helpful couple Pete and Paula. They couldn't have tried any harder to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in one of the larger double rooms, which was spotless and had everything we needed. Breakfasts are a treat with home-made preserves and great tasting full english breakfasts from all local ingredients. There are too many little touches to mention here but its safe to say the Riftswood is defintely a gem and we hope to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a gem of a B and B this is ! We booked through late rooms and only room 1 was available. Please note that this room 's w c is just next door to the room but is very private. Paula and Pete made us very welcome and served us probably one of the best breakfasts ever! It would appear that many guests have stayed before which says a lot. We enjoyed meeting denzil that huge black teddy bear of a dog! We had a lovely time and will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are regular vistors to Whitby and would always stay in hotels but won't be from herein. Lovely couple who run the guest house and very genuine, breakfast was great and the room was welcoming and spotless. Will be staying here from now on on our regular trips to the far east! Never taken the time to write a review before but both my wife and myself really wanted to give some feedback to what made a wet and cold weekend turn out just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riftswood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riftswood B&B

Address: 5 Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian, family run B&B, quietly situated in a secluded part of Whitby, yet within close proximity to the sea front, beach and the bus & rail stations in the centre of Whitby. Guest facilities include 3 large double en-suite bedrooms, with full English breakfast using local produce, along with a selection of alternative items for those with a smaller appetite.Please note we are a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riftswood Hotel Whitby
Riftswood Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riftswood B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.