We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Leeway
Save
You added The Leeway to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night
Ranked #4 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here last weekend and had a wonderful time from the moment we arrived till when we left. Greeted by the very lovely hosts with a very welcome cuppa and a slice of cake! We stayed in the Hudson which is at the top of the house. Beautifully decorated and everything you need for a perfect stay. Slept really well in the very comfortable bed. In a great location very close to all that Whitby can offer. Wonderful breakfast too!! Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    38
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
629
38
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

First time at the Leeway, 3 nights Friday to Monday. Stayed in room 2, Scoresby.The Leeway is a very clean,smart and well run B & B. Hosts, Garry and Karen have put a lot of work in to get things right,You would have to look very, very hard to find fault, All items provided,towels,soaps,robes,are of the best quality. This standard went through to the Breakfast.
The Leeway is one of the best B & Bs in Whitby for a reason,,Its Good. ( Read the reviews,they are true)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Having planned a surprise trip for me and my partner, I chose the Leeway due to the sparkling reviews left by previous guests. They were all true and more. The beds were immensely comfortable, the room wonderfully decorated, well furnished and with a lot more coming with the room than you realise at the time of purchase. The location is perfect, though in Whitby it is hard for anything else as it is all so close together. The hosts were as accommodating as they could be at every turn, being flexible to what we needed for our trip and pleasant in every conversation we had. Breakfast was delightful, with homemade conserves and sauces as well as all locally sourced food which told in the taste. I was slightly tentative when booking due to the price, but for what we got and how well we were treated it turned out to be a bargain

Room Tip: We stayed in the St Mary, but all rooms we saw looked equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday, and really cannot find anything to fault.
We stayed in room 2, Scoresby, which had recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Lovely décor and an en-suite to match, really high standard.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
Great location, only 2 mins walk from the seafront.

Both Gary and Karen have a wonderful air of relaxed calm about them, which clearly only comes from years of experience. This comes across in every aspect and makes for a wonderful atmosphere. The devil really is in the little details, and they have this down to a tee.

This is definitely on our hit list to visit again and again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Stather
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is our third stay with The Leeway , Garry and Karen have made this bed and breakfast outstanding every little detail is exceptional. From the warm welcome on our arrival with a cup of coffee and ginger cake to the detail in the products they use for toiletries and most of all the wonderful breakfast. The room we stopped in The Stoker was brilliant, spacious and exceptionally clean. Be back again soon .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We decided to have a random trip to Whitby for the night after leaving York the night before. While hunting for a B&B we stumbled across this lovely one. The owners were friendly and helpful, the room comfy, nicely decorated and well equipped. Breakfast was also delicious (we both had full English but there was lots of choice). Would highly recommend. :-) Thank you :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly reccomend the Leeway we had a lovely stay one of the best b+b we have stayed in, with attention paid to the little extras which make you want to return. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed the option of the daily specials and the homemade lemon curd was yummy! Good location for exploring Whitby and Karen and Garry had lots of infomation for places to visit and were very welcoming throughout our stay. Great value. money and hope to return soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.