We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leeway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Leeway
Save
You added The Leeway to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel was one of the best we have stayed in for a small BB its was Brill food beds room all great.THe owner was allways there if needed and helpfull .The breakfest was great anything you wanted from full english to kippers and fruit.

Room Tip: Any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    38
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
670
38
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roberttown
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

From the moment of arriving you were welcomed so warmly by Garry and Karen. Made more so by the home-made carrot cake and coffee! What a lovely couple. Only stayed for a 2 night break but will definitely be back and hopefully for longer. Breakfast was lovely and home-made yogurt and preserves delightful, especially the rhubarb curd! Lots of helpful information on area and eateries. Couldnt have chosen better. Pam & John.

Room Tip: Stayed in Stoker room but all looked equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have stayed at the leeway before and will definately be back this must be the best b&b in whitby for breakfast friendliness rooms with personal touches cleanliness and a welcome second to none thanks karen n gary just wot we needed sue &dawn doncaster

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Garry and Karen's bed & breakfast was the first one we had been to in Whitby, however we are certain that we stumbled across one of the best. Compared to the many I've stayed at in Scarborough and Filey, The Leeway excelled in presentation, service, location and just being generally excellent! Small things such as being greeted by a delicious slice of Karen's homemade cake on arrival, Garry's warm introduction to the room, the small pots of sweets etc. made the stay a real delight. My partner and I would highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Go with the king size rooms for the extra ten pounds, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On our arriival Karen was amazingly friendly offering tea coffee and cake and the addition of the crackling fire tv was brill Our room was so comfy we had to have a siesta like being abroad. Garrys breakfast is excellent nothing is too much trouble beautifully cooked. The location is spot on for bars restaurants live music etc.Bonus parking outside.Lovely hosts fabulous comfortable rooms warm even on a cold january night.Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

For making our stay there more than welcome. A great hotel to stay in for the short or long stay. Those beds are deadly for putting you to sleep when you don't won't to sleep. It is a very relaxing place to stay. Excellent hosts with great personallities. First time we have stopped there and it won't be the last. Ian and Shirley.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 nights and it was incredible! On arrival we were offered tea or coffee and a slice of homemade chocolate cake! Karen and Garry are very welcoming and very friendly, the service was top notch!

The room was beautiful, the bed and linen made for a very good sleep! It was very homely and made the whole weekend very special!

Breakfast was amazing, one of the best I've ever had! It was my girlfriends’ birthday and was a very nice surprise to be met at our table with a bottle of bucks fizz and birthday confetti scattered around the table!

All in all I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Scoresby but any room should just be as good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeway

Address: 1 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leeway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leeway is a relaxed, informal bolthole just a few minutes walk away from Whitby harbour, seafront, shops and restaurants. Our own special brand of friendly smiling and unstuffy service will help make your stay a memorable one.Set in a classic Victorian Terrace House, The Leeway is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style without a hint of chintz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Leeway Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.