We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly residence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riviera Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Riviera Guest House to your Saves list
The Riviera Guest House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 149 Whitby B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly residence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Lovely family run hotel. Owners really helpful and friendly, made us feel very welcome. Room clean and bed comfortable, would definitely stay again. Very good breakfast!!!!!!. Peaceful location.
Lovely view from our sea view room. Only downfall was it was quite a trek to the bars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    61
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
22
134
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Whitby is just great, and it's even better when you stay somewhere nice like this. The couple that run the place are fantastic, the breakfast was delicious, and the room was nice. And our room was facing away from the sea; I can only imagine how nice the place would be with a view of the ocean. Absolutely well worth staying there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Really friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Special dietary requirements catered for without hesitation. Beautiful sea views from the bed which were lovely to wake up to. Great for families and couples alike. We will certainly visit again!

Room Tip: Top floor sea view room for excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our recent stay at Whitby gave us wonderful views from our bedroom windows of the sea and bay below, fantastic breakfasts and great kindness from Emma and Zed... and smiles from Zak. Zed was very efficient in providing the parking vouchers - the system is extremely easy to use. We look forward to returning to The Riviera.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I cannot believe this is a 4 star establishment.
The place is run down, shabby and some basic things that you would expect to have were missing - an alarm clock, a phone, tissues, shower gel, shampoo. No biscuits with tea and coffee,
I'm not sure what the cleaner gets paid for but clearly the owners aren't checking on her work. The wardrobes were dusty inside, there was no mattress cover on the bed and my friends shower door was off. We were advised that the room had been empty the night before and the owners still let it with no shower door. Scuff marks all up the stairs and woodwork which was crying out for a lick of paint.


The breakfast was poor - cheap sliced bread, very little fruit and what looked like tinned grapefruit standing for days.
Although sausage and bacon was tasty the eggs were undercooked and watery and on the last day my bread on my "open sandwich" had mould on the edge!!

I think the Hotel Inspector would have a field day - please get yourselves sorted out -although we have no intention of returning.
It is true the owners were friendly however this does not excuse some important changes which drastically need to be addressed.
Apologies were given but I will not be able to forget the disappointment of this place and so I'm afraid lasting impressions stick.
Please don't go by the reviews stating this place is good - we did and we wished we hadn't.

Room Tip: nice views and ideal for the pavilion but choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraWhitby, Owner at The Riviera Guest House, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are very sorry that you have had a disappointing stay with us.
I would like to explain from our opinion since unfortunately we do not agree with some of the comments you have made.

I would like to think that we do not own a 'run down', 'shabby' guesthouse since we have only last year had new bathrooms put in and new dining rooms. I don't believe we would get the positive feedback we do, and returning guests, if the guesthouse was as you describe it.

You are correct, we do not provide an alarm clock or a phone in the bedrooms since the majority of guests now own a mobile phone which they can utilise for such tasks. However, as is mentioned in the welcome pack, we are more than happy to provide wake up calls.
You were provided with complimentary shower gel and shampoo, if you would have liked more, we would have been more than happy to provide this.

Regarding the shower door, this was completely fine when your friend checked in. I, myself, was in the bathroom replacing the hygiene bags the same day you both checked in and the door was as it should be. We can only imagine that your friend has pulled the door outwards to open it when in actual fact it should be opened sideways as the rollers had been snapped. I explained that due to this, we have had to order new parts and therefore offered your friend the use of a different shower or an upgrade to a king size room, both of which she declined. To be honest, we can only go so far to resolve a problem and I felt offering an upgraded room would suffice therefore it has upset us that your comments are so derogatory when the resolutions were refused.

Regarding your comments that we use 'cheap sliced bread', we use Kingsmill Bread which I wouldn't categorise as 'cheap' and would be interested to know which bread you would have preferred. As for the fruit, we offer apples, tangerines, kiwi fruit, grapefruit and bananas, again, I would be interested to know what other fruit you would liked to have seen on offer. We would like to thank you for your comments regarding the bacon and sausage and are glad you enjoyed that aspect of your breakfast.

Due to your feelings on check out regarding your stay, we offered a discount on the price charged. We even asked yourselves how much you felt your stay was worth (bearing in mind the issues you were not happy with) and we only asked for that amount.
Bearing this in mind, your comments on this review have upset us considerably because a lot of the content we feel is either incorrect or quite unfair. Furthermore, you agreed on check out that the price you paid reflected your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed for one night recently and I have to say the B&B was exactly as expected and great value for money

Great location and views. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Very good value, got exactly what I paid for and would recommend this hotel or stay again in future.

Only down points would be that the shower had no power, drawers in the room were thick with dust (not that I used them) and the window opens fully out, and is only just above knee height, which was a bit of a worry.

Room Tip: Sea view is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Thank you to Emma, Zed and Zack for another fantastic stay, its always good too see how hard you work to make sure all the guests have a good time. Looking forward to coming back in November.

Hope the recent changes to parking fees the council have introduced does not put people off visiting Whitby

Room Tip: Room 2 for an excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riviera Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Guest House

Address: 4 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riviera Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera is a friendly, family run guesthouse with stunning panoramic views over the North Sea. The views stretch from the next Bay (Sandsend) across the sea to Whitby Harbour Entrance. The guesthouse is also within walking distance of all the local amenities (e.g. West Cliff attractions, Beach and Pavillion/Spa, Town Centre - Restaurants, Tourist Attractions and Shopping). The majority of our rooms are sea facing and have en-suite facilities, LCD TVs, refreshment trays and large white fluffy towels. Our breakfast dining rooms have 'floor to ceiling' Bay Window sea views - a fantastic environment to fill your tummy (cooked and continental breakfast inclusive in the price)! Our commitment to guest satisfaction has been recognised by receiving awards from TripAdvisor and LateRooms, our most recent being LateRooms 'Simply the Guest' Award 2015. We look forward to welcoming you to The Riviera in this beautiful area of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Riviera Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Guest House Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riviera Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.