We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Passage to India

Passage to India
30-31 Windsor Terrace | Whitby, Whitby YO21 1ET, England
01947 606500/489
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 166 restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Passage To India is a Contemporary Indian cuisine set in the heart of Whitby, North-Yorkshire. The restaurant is decorated up to date in a warm vibrant settings and serving both traditional and contemporary Indian dishes also some English dishes to suit all palate.A warm welcome await for you at the passage to India restaurant.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Visited for the 4th time, by far the worst. Service very slow, even taking into account it was new years eve.
Poppadoms soft, first time I`ve seen any sent back from the friends I was with. Some mains arrived at a tepid temperature, then had to wait for sundries, even after several reminders. Most of the dishes were ok, but the lamb was not up to scratch, definately not `succulent` as described. Honest opinion given to staff when they asked. This was then passed on to management, there was no reaction to this, except we were not offered the complimentary drink everyone else was given on finishing their meal, petty or just an oversight? Comments were politely given to the management on leaving, but a sense of `Ive got your money, close the door on the way out` was apparant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    182
    101
    39
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
1 review
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a meal here whilst we were staying at the George hotel accross the road. Meal was fantastic, restaurant clean and friendly staff

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spent to much on the decor instead of the cook.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What can you say!! You hope to find a good curry house yet once again get let down by below average food. Spongy poppadums,rip off soft drink prices and all to often found tastless food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Brilliant !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner have just visited this restaurant and the food was excellent , my partner ate the butter chicken an I had the garlic chilli chicken which was rather hot but very tasty !!! Would go again

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

As I live in whitby and a massive fan of Indian cuisine this is my favourite place to eat. I try to order something different every time I go there. I have nearly done the whole menu. My favourite dish so Far is the garlic chilli chicken.(hot) I eat in and get take aways delivered and the quality is the same everytime. The restaurant is run by kam who is friendly and polite as are the rest of his staff. Great food, great prices, great prices!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage to India also viewed

 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Passage to India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passage to India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.