We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend ruined!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Whitby Indian & Tandoori Restaurant

Whitby Indian & Tandoori Restaurant
Station Square | Unit 6, Whitby Quays, Whitby YO21 1DX, England
01947 820871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 176 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A weekend ruined!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food here is dire....
Soggy poppadoms.......unchewable lamb.......salad was probably fresh about a week ago....cloudly beer and miserable waiters.....need i say any more...
2 days after this meal, our guts are still in a state of shock....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    34
    23
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Ate at 10pm and ordered 2 X diet cokes to drink. Don't you just hate it when what you get is NOT coke but either gassed up syrup or some cheap other brand. If it's coke please put the bottle (or can) on the table so the customer can see what it is they are drinking. You do that with wine so what's the problem?
At almost £30 for 2 X mains, 1 shared rice and 1 chapatti, it was too much to pay.
Also the waiters kept hovering over us when we were eating. I hadn't swallowed the last bite of my meal and my plate was taken away. My wife stopped eating 2/3rds through her meal for a rest & her plate taken.
Would I go back? I don't think so. The food was OK and no better or worse than others I have had.
I didn't check the bill so can't comment on extra's etc being added on.
We were the only ones in the restaurant and it took ages to serve us the meal. At one point we thought about paying for the drinks and leaving.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This places is on par with Jamals in middlesbrough and definitely worth a visit staff excellent friendly and always make you feel welcome even got a free flaming sambuca to help celebrate our anniversary been a few times and I couldn't recommend high enough always try different types of food wow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and plenty of it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you desire a delicious Indian meal in a comfortable and friendly environment this is the place for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and what we could not eat was packaged up for take away and our daughter has just polished it off for her tea! ;-D

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice meal , good value overall and good service in friendly atmosphere. The restaurant is located at the station entrance at whitby and is tastefully decorated throughout.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitby Indian & Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, North Yorkshire
Whitby, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Whitby Indian & Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitby Indian & Tandoori Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.