We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal B+B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner Guest House

The Corner Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Corner Guest House to your Saves list
The Corner Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3-4 Crescent Place, Whitby, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 145 Whitby B&B and Inns
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ideal B+B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay and were well looked after.The room was quite small and on the third floor (lots of stairs!) but it was well equipped and perfectly clean.The breakfasts were of an very high standard and the staff were efficient and attentive. We can definitely recommend The Corner Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here the first time we had a much more spacious room, can't remember the room number from our last visit but it was a little on the small size, the bed was not very comfy and the decor is definitely in need of a touch of modernisation, overall it's not a bad b&b for the money and the location is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here - the room was very comfortable, every where very clean, the breakfast was excellent, friendly staff and good location - what more could you ask for? The only problem is parking, this is on the street and can get filled up when the weather is good.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from our weekend break and all I will say about this hotel is,it's faultless . Great rooms , fabulous food and perfect location. Would I stay here again ...you can bet your bottom dollar I would .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Thanks, Julie and Wayne and the rest of the excellent staff! Fantastic place, great location, beautiful rooms and very tasty and rich breakfast. I´ll be back! Margareta Ekelund, Malmö, Sweden, May 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of November, beginning of December. We have stayed previously in Whitby but wanted somewhere within walking distance of the town attractions. The guesthouse is positioned along with many others on the West Cliff, with sea views if you strain your head in the window! We stayed in a four poster room. The decoration was fine and clean. The bedding was good and fairly new, as were the towels. The tea and coffee facilities were also good. Rooms were cleaned and towels replaced daily. The ensuite shower was functional and clean with plenty of hot water. The toilets in the guesthouse have some kind of electric powered booster behind the bowl. Everytime this reached a certain level, especially when flushed, it was horrendously noisey for a few seconds. This was a nuisance in the middle of the night and you could hear other occupants quite clearly when their boosters kicked in!
The staff were excellent, very attentive and friendly. Couldnt fault them.
The breakfast was excellent, fresh and hot. Cooked to order, plenty of it and couldnt ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in Room 4, which is a family room, it was clean and well kept, however, the ensuite was very small and the shower tempremental (there was a knack to getting hot water). Breakfast was lovely and the owners and staff very welcoming.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs ensure you say, as there are lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner Guest House

Address: 3-4 Crescent Place, Whitby, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corner Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corner Guest House Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.