We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King William the Fourth Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added King William the Fourth Guest House to your Saves list
King William the Fourth Guest House
High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Settle B&B and Inns
Cheshire, UK
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was only at this guest house from 7pm until 6am the next morning but it 11 hours of loveliness! The room as modern yet cosy and had everything you would want; clean fresh towels, comfy beds and tea and biscuits. The hosts were some of the best i've experienced, exceptionally helpful and friendly. We were walking the Yorkshire 3 peaks and Chris and Jackie were up at half 5 making us a full cooked breakfast and porridge - and still smiling! They even heated up our soup in their microwave so we could take it in a flask. I would really like to go back there just for a weekend because it was so lovely :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review with such great comments, we are thrilled you loved your stay with us. Glad to help with the soup, and of course an early breakfast before your challenge. Would be great to see you make a return visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
109
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We attended a wedding at Taitlands and this was the perfect place to stay. The room was very clean and decorated really nice. The Hosts are very friendly and helpful. They ordered our taxi for the morning making our day hassle free. It's in the heart of the town so you can stroll around the local pubs and restaurants. Will definitely go back - we had the room with shower and Jacuzzi which was a nice treat.

Room Tip: If you are going to need a taxi book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for doing this lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed the facilities of “Fuggles” and liked our hospitality – that was a useful Room Tip with regards to taxis! Look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of the Way of the Roses cycle. Chris & Jackie went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The room was furnished to a high standard and breakfast was lovely. We recieved a warm welcome from the moment we knocked on the front door, we were greatful for the extra air in our tyres and the offer of the lift up to the of the hill out of Settle - Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time on your return from completing the Way of the Roses ride to write this great review. It’s nice to read you found the room a high standard and enjoyed the breakfast before setting off. Glad to help with ensuring the tyre pressures were correct for your onward journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were cycling the Way of the roses which literally passes this excellent b&b in the centre of town. We had a jacuzzi bath to ease away the aches and pains of tackling some of the Yorkshire dales, and a hearty breakfast fuelled our next stage uphill and down dale to Ripon. Thanks for keeping our bikes safe, providing us with a pump and even offering to take us or our luggage to the top of the hill!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post this lovely review. We hope that the climb was not too tough and congratulations for carrying your own luggage.
We hope that the rest of your trip was equally enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just come back from a lovely 2-night stay at the King William, right in the heart of Settle. Very quiet considering its location. The rooms were lovely - nice Fair Trade tea & coffee selection and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was nice - our room did not have a shower but had a jacuzzi bath instead which was divine, this did have a hand-held shower attachment. Very clean. Breakfast was really good - lots of choice. The owners were nice and friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Look at the website - each room has a name and there are pictures online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for doing this great review on your return home, it’s good to read you both enjoyed the spa bath in our Golden Pippin room and had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Jackie and Chris the owners were lovely and looked after us and were very helpful. We stayed there for 2 nights as my family were in Settle for a wedding on the Saturday. We had 3 rooms booked they were all very clean and nicely decorated. Had my 19 month grandson with us and they made him very welcome cot was no problem all ready and made up for him and even made him his own special breakfast. Would recommend and will be going back hopefully in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are both delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us whilst attending a family wedding over the weekend. Certainly we hoped you all would feel at home in our Guest house, and we may well welcome you back one day. Many thanks for sharing your comments online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Your brilliant website directed me to your excellent and comfortable B and B. I was warmly greeted, given accurate information about local pubs for eating and shown to my relaxing room. The complimentary tea and coffee revived me before going out into Settle. The bed was very comfortable and in the morning I enjoyed a tasty breakfast. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit salad before the freshly cooked salmon and eggs. I would definitely recommend the King William to anyone and would certainly stay here again when I am next in the area. Thank you Chris and Jackie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, Owner at King William the Fourth Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to do your brilliant review, and you enjoyed our hospitality. We are glad you liked the website – which, since your stay we have changed (and hopefully improved!) it, but if I remember correctly you particularly like the fact you could check availability and book direct on-line on our website. This has remained a feature should you want to come stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King William the Fourth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William the Fourth Guest House

Address: High Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King William the fourth Guest House provides high quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the centre of the beautiful North Yorkshire town of Settle. Ideal as a base for walking in the Yorkshire Dales or for those with an interest in the famous Settle to Carlisle Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your King William the Fourth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King William the Fourth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.