We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning waterfall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stainforth Force

Stainforth Force
Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 things to do in Settle
Attraction details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Stunning waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We did this early in the morning so was very quiet. It was an easy walk from the village and the views on the way were stunning. When we arrived at waterfall it was well worth the walk as it was stunning and a great photo opportunity's. We also viewed the waterfall from lower down and we took some great photographs.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Plenty of Salmon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great place to see Salmon jumping as they journey up the river. We have visited in all seasons from swimming in the river in summer to it being an absolute torrent in winter. A great place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Easy walk from the village, quiet when we were there, but I can imagine it gets busy in summer, very nice place, good for those who like photography.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Essex, U.K.
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Awesome and Accessible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a fantastic waterfall, accessible by foot or small car from Stainforth - which is about 6 miles north of Settle, on the B6479. Or by foot or larger car from Little Stainforth ....

Your best bet is to look at an OS map. This shows you can get a car close to the waterfall. You can - however, there is a "BUT" .... if you come down the narrow hill lane off the B6479 (Dog Hill Brow) you encounter a packhorse bridge over the River Ribble at the bottom (N.B. I'd say the lane is so narrow that it would be difficult to turn around before it) BUT this bridge is very narrow and it has a very steep 'crown' - I've read that the lane only measures 2.2m wide at the crown!!! If you take a look at my 2 bridge images, you may get some idea of what I am talking about.

On the opposite side of the bridge (on the west side of the river), the lane is a little wider and there is a very small, rough area for about three cars to park. It is easy to get to this point from the direction of Little Stainforth - then you don't have to worry about crossing the bridge.

Opposite the aforementioned rough area for parking, there is a 'squeeze stile' in the stone wall - a few steps rise up to this, on either side. Once you get over the stile, the River Ribble falling as Stainforth Force is within sight. If it has been raining and is muddy under-foot, don't be tempted to try and go down to the river straight away - the ground falls away steeper here and you could land up falling on your rear ... as I did once :-( Bide your time and just go a bit further ahead to where there is a more gradual/gentle route down to the river and the Force.

Obviously consider your own safety and that of others but you can get very close to the water and the Force is awesome - especially after rain. You can get down onto the slabs of stone beside the River and the Force but be wary of the fact that any such location is subject to possible surges and the river height can be continually rising - it can easily cover the slabs that you find yourself standing on.

You can obviously get down to the Packhorse Bridge, River & Force on foot from both directions. From Stainforth itself, you can park in the Pay & Display car park:- look towards the B6479 (with Stainforth Beck on your left) and you can see that there is a path that take you under the road, beside the beck. Basically, follow you nose ... we had no idea on the route when we did it the first time but we didn't get lost. Initially, you walk through a small open, green area with wooden picnic table/s; follow a path along and over the railway line; follow path further and you come out at 'Dog Hill Brow' ... by doing this, you don't have to walk beside the B6479 until you get to the 'Dog Hill Brow'. That said, if you wanted to do this, there is a pavement the whole way.

Enjoy :-)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stainforth Force also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Stainforth Force? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stainforth Force, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.