We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Arms

Talbot Arms
High Street | Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9EX, England
+44 1729 823924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Settle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: British, English, Pub, Eclectic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Shipton on Cherwell
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The beer is constantly rotated giving an extremely good choice, we didn't eat but the food being served smelt and looked a reasonable standard, the bar staff were friendly and knowledgeable when asked about different beers and wines, when we return to Settle we shall visit them again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    57
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Talbot Settle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have visited the Talbot in Settle on quite a few occasions, and have found it to be a very worthwhile place to visit, whether it is for just a drink or for food, both are excellent. I have always found the staff very friendly and helpful, highly recommended to anyone who is in the Settle area. There is an excellent selection of beers etc. which can be enjoyed in comfortable surroundings, well done to the owners and keep up the good work. I have spoken to a lot of people who have been to the Talbot and they all say the same. Good food, Good beer etc. an all round good place to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lucky Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were looking for a dog friendly pub and found the Talbot Arms, how lucky we were, the food was excellent, well cooked, well presented, piping hot and generous portions.
The staff were very friendly and attentive and we were made to feel very welcome, we enjoyed our visit so much we returned the next evening for more of the same, next time we are in the area we will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bp Auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A lovely spacious and bright pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We called here for tea one Monday night in late September and were impressed, its a big spacious, bright and clean pub with a lovely ambience.
My wife and i had very good starter and main meals that were good portions served quite briskly and very reasonably priced as well.
We think it'll be a great pub on a winters night with the great big fire burning away and warming the drinkers who seemed to be pleasant and respectful of a nice pub .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“settle down and enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hidden away off the main centre of settle, the Talbot has undergone such a transformation that I did not recognise the interior from the run down, tatty boozer it was on my last visit, albeit the beers were good.
The beer selection now is excellent and together with a reasonably priced menu it makes a lovely place to just 'settle' back in the garden with a ploughmans and a pint of cask.
Lovely!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talbot Arms also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Talbot Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.