We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie at the Courtyard

Brasserie at the Courtyard
A65 | BD24 9JY, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle, England
01729 892900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Settle
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Brasserie is within a superb complex of new rennovated barns adjacent to the A65 near Settle.Open daily for breakfast, morning coffee, brunch, lunch and afternoon tea. Mixing contemporary interiors, an open plan kitchen and traditional barns we serve modern English and European cuisine. Seasonal events run throughout the year. Disabled access and ample free parking.
Cumbria, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Good and varied menu at average prices - except for the Sunday roast which we felt was well overpriced at £17.95 for the main course. I chose rump steak which was delicious, full of flavour, tender and cooked exactly as requested. It was served with a green salad and chips. My husband chose the risotto which was tasty, though the portion was on the small side. Puddings were delicious, the vanilla pannacotta with prunes and armagnac was a great choice. Staff were friendly and attentive and the restaurant is warm, clean and comfortable. There is an 'open cooking' arrangement so the chefs are on view at all times - they were extremely efficient and the kitchen operated smoothly and calmly - at least that is the impression they gave!
The Courtyard range of shops is exclusive and expensive, beautiful bespoke furniture et cetera, it is to be hoped that enough people can afford the goods to enable the venture to be successful. There is also a wine shop and cheese shop. We would go back to the restaurant but would not make a trip out otherwise as we are not millionaires!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments and feedback which are much appreciated. It is still very early days for us all at The Courtyard and we hope we can go from strength to strength.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    11
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had a lovely lunch up. Nice good hearty food, not fine dining or gastronomic but hearty good quality food. The clam chowder was amazing to start i then had venison which was nice but not upto the heights of the chowder.
Service was efficient and pleasant enough.
The rest of the complex has some nice shops in it too - a good wine shop, furniture and cheese.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us and we are pleased you enjoyed The Brasserie and The Courtyard - we try to take on board and respond to all feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The whole. Place is very nice with a lovely cheese shop a nice but expensive clothes shop and lovely furniture shop with craftsman made furniture etc also a less exciting art gallery. We had lunch here which was very good and not too expensive - especially good was the brownie for dessert. The only disappointment was the cappuccino which was in a very small cup mostly filled with watery foam. But would happily go back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Brasserie and The Courtyard and we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A new discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Came across this new Restuarant while traveling up to visit friends. Situated on the A65 near settle is convient and nicely laidout. A old set of farm buidlings have been converted in a sellection of small shop units and a Restaurant upstairs.

We stopped for a quick bite to eat to break or journey instead of traveling into Settle. Food was fine, menu a little expensive and fussy. Service was also fine (but with 3 waitress's serving 6 customers) if a little to attentive. Some strange wool artwork added some colour and the decoration is quite modern and colourful.

Might stop by again if passing in need of a Tea or Coffee or a break from the road!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review The Courtyard and The Brasserie and we are glad you enjoyed your stop-off with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“surprising find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

16.12.12.
Driving back from Settle, we came to what for years had been a derelict farmhouse and barn, now signed as a brasserie and courtyard shopping area. We decided to give the brasserie a try and went into a marvellously renovated interior with shops and the brasserie upstairs.

We had an excellent, tasty and well presented meals. Lamb done in a confi style, whilst I had grilled haddock with scallops and mussels in a white wine sauce. Both meals were delicious, closely followed by rhubarb crumble with custard, both meals served promptly with pleasant staff.

Total bill was £44 including tea to follow. On our trips to and from the yorkshire dales, we will definitely be diverting back to the Courtyard Brasserie. Well done !!
Alan H.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience of both The Brasserie and The Courtyard. We have invested much time and passion into the development of The Courtyard and also the food served in The Brasserie and we are pleased that you agree that it has been a worthwhile investment. We look foward to seeing you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie at the Courtyard also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Brasserie at the Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie at the Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.