We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Traddock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Traddock to your Saves list
The Traddock
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my wife have just spent one night at this wonderfull hotel. When we arrived in the car park we were greeted by a lovely gentleman who was very hospitable, we were then taken into the hotel which left me quite speechless as the atmosphere is very relaxed and the decor is exquisite. We had room seven which is just as described on the Traddocks website and more with its comfortable and lavish bed, the Molton Brown toileteries, the bath for two and the rooms elegance in general. That evening we ate ate the hotels resurant, the food is just delightful and the waitresses were superb.

I can honestly say I will be visiting the Traddock Hotel in the near future and that anyone wanting to stay will not be dissapointed.

Thank you

Room Tip: Room seven is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    76
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
274
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed for one night in room 6. The hotel is beautiful throughout, full of character with real fires and gorgeous lounges. The room itself was lovely, with fresh milk, homemade biscuits and real coffee. In the evening we had a drink in the lounge while we studied the menu, with lovely complimentary olives and nuts in front of the fire. The meal was first class, the restaurant is lovely and the staff are great. Breakfast was perfect. The location is wonderful too, a quiet spot in an idyllic village. The local pub is worth a visit too.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at The Traddock, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for writing your review. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all our lounges and public rooms.

Our main lounge has been under going some refurbishment over the last few weeks and we are just at the final stage of getting the arm chairs recovered. We are very pleased with the results and its now a great space to while away a few hours relaxing!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Traddock.

Kind Regards

Paul Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've just spent a weekend at The Traddock and it was marvellous in every respect. Having chosen it via the internet solely because it was were we wanted to be and it took dogs, it was an absolute gem. Great ambience, welcoming staff; classy and cosy lounges; understatedly stylish bedrooms; comfy beds with smooth, smooth sheets and lashings of hot water to go with the Molton Brown toileteries; fantastic food (dinner as well as breakfast); all 4 of us enjoyed every aspect and would thoroughly recommend it. Thank you. Go enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at The Traddock, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Your recommendation and kind review are something we really appreciate.

Thank you

Paul Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Austwick Traddock in late October and I was so looking forward to it. The food was nothing out of the ordinary. in fact, I have to say that it varied over the three days and I was not greatly impressed, even the bread which was homemade and many reviewers raved about was very heavy.

I have actually left it a while to see if after another trip to a different hotel I would feel different and sadly I do not. Nothing about our stay was welcoming maybe we expected too much. The views were sadly lacking and the gardens were lack lustre. I am sorry we did not enjoy this hotel and will not return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at The Traddock, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. With regard to our food, as you declined to eat from the menus provided, our chef tried to respond to your special requests with flair and we are can only apologise if this did not impress. Our bread is homemade from organic flour and is perhaps a little heavier than a shop bought loaf, but still full of flavour!

Our gardens in late October may be a little bare, which is to be expected at that time of year. But the hotel is surrounded by stunning scenery, with views of the Yorkshire Dales to one side and the Forest of Bowland to the other, so we are surprised to hear that you found the views lacking.

We are most disappointed to hear that you found nothing about your stay welcoming. Even if the hotel was not to your taste, we are very proud of our professional and committed team of staff who consistently do all they can to provide a warm welcome for all our guests.

Kind Regards

Paul Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We spent a weekend here post Christmas for both our birthdays and had a great time. It was a nice and quiet Sunday/Monday and we had the place to ourselves.

When we arrived the reception we recieved from Rob was excellent and this continued for the whole trip. The food was simple high quality fair and choice was good. We had to leave early on the Tuesday due to work commitments but the staff had left us a breakfast hamper which was very welcome.

Ideal spot and hope to return, this is how it should be.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a one night stay to celebrate my 40th and what a fabulous stay we had. The staff really looked after us, making that extra effort to make us feel welcome and relaxed. Our room was lovely, with a bath in the middle of the room and large comfy bed overlooking the garden and views. Dinner was outstanding...I'm a 3 Acres in Huddersfield fan and this matches the food on quality and presentation so I was really impressed. If you want a lovely relaxing weekend with lovely rooms and outstanding food with staff that make your stay really special, this is the place to stay...highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at The Traddock, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Fantastic comments about our food, our whole team try very hard to delvier the best experience we can and glad to read that for you we delivered.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Kind Regards

Paul Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've just had a one night stay at the Traddock. It felt like we were being spoiled from the minute we arrived. Staff were warm and welcoming. Our room - no.8 had a huge and oh so comfortable bed and the sitting area was lovely with a view into the garden with its snowdrops. Dinner was excellent and like other reviewers say, the breakfast was perfect ... A wonderful unhurried atmosphere to start the day. The staff create a really relaxing ambience and I would heartily recommend the Traddock for anyone - like ourselves- seeking a retreat from the normal cares of life. Next time -two nights!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at The Traddock, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

If your looking for a relaxing place to unwind then Room 8 is a large and comfortable suite of rooms fit for purpose! Very quiet and with great views and access to our gardens.

Thank you for your review, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Paul Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Traddock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Traddock

Address: Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Traddock 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy hotel is renowned for its charm and friendliness. Surrounded by the breathtaking scenery of the Yorkshire Dales National Park it is the perfect base for walking the 'Three Peaks' or the Wainwright walk to Crummackdale from our front door. We work hard at informality and subtle attention as we feel this is the best way to ensure your relaxation and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Traddock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Traddock Hotel Settle
Traddock Hotel Austwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Traddock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.