We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teething problems, but we will try it again!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Manor Hotel

Falcon Manor Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falcon Manor Hotel
Save
You added Falcon Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Skipton Road, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Teething problems, but we will try it again!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great transformation to the hotel..... but waiting over an hour for a bar meal wasn't great, especially when it wasn't busy!

Disappointing, but we won't write it off completely! Will maybe try again in a few months.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We met some of our family for a Sunday Lunch as we were all extremely pleased with what we had from the Sunday Lunch menu. There were six choices for starters and six choices for mains with all the major roasts on offer (thankfully turkey was not on today). A selection of desserts were available from the Sunday lunch menu. If the selection on offer did not meet your needs there is also a bar menu with a selection of lighter options and children's choices too.

The staff were very helpful and courteous without exception. When we asked if they could do children's portions for the Sunday roasts a quick yes was offered. At the time of ordering we asked for the children's meals to be brought with the starters and without asking they brought them before the starters allowing mum and dad to help them with cutting up the food etc. The starters were delicious and beautifully presented.

Main course was served pipping hot and portions were excellent with good quality food being well cooked and again presented with care to create a culinary delight.

The children were offered a selection of desserts and these were quickly dispatched to sate their sweet needs. Although the sticky toffee pudding was not advertised with Creme Anglaise the chef readily agreed to provide the dessert as requested and it was excellent.

Coffee and drinks included and a total bill of £114 was the cost. 2 courses can be had for £16.95 or 3 courses for £19.95. A little bit on the expensive side but the service and experience of dining in a beautiful dining room made it all worthwhile.

We shall certainly take another trip out for lunch some time soon.

Thank you.

Room Tip: We just dined so no experience of the rooms to go on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited the wonderfully transformed Falcon Manor yesterday (Boxing Day) for lunch. Having previously called a week earlier just for a drink and to see the refurbishment I was quite eager to try the food. All 4 of us were delighted with what we ordered from the menu. The food was beautifully presented and hot. Althought the portions weren't huge we were all quite satisfied and the price was good at £19.95 for 3 courses. We knew quite a few other people dining at the same time and all seemed pleased with the food. The service was a little slow but we were kept informed on the progress by the head waitress.
Although the refurbishment looks beautiful my main criticism is the size of the main bar, it is HUGE and tends to cause a bit of a bottle neck when people are ordering drinks and others are trying to leave, can't see the reason for such a deep counter top. Also the perspex boudoir chairs don't fit in with the decor of the bar and look completely out of place.
We are definitley pleased to see the beautiful old building saved and wish them every success, we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really impressed by the refurb. Gorgeous place to visit for drinks. Dinner menu looks impressive. Bar menu also. Very cosy. Helpful staff. Defo worth a visit. Lovely building, garden and spectacular views.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Potentially, the Falcon is going to be a great asset to Settle and the surrounding areas. We had a superb meal yesterday - the starters, goats cheese fritters with baby beets and the game terrine were both well presented and very tasty. The main courses, loin of venison with spiced red cabbage and the vegetarian dish of arancini served on a wild mushroom and spinach veloute were outstanding. Great care and attention to detail has clearly been applied to the production and presentation of these dishes.
Service is friendly and attentive if not yet fully polished - early days!
The refurbishment has been completed to a very high standard indeed.
Keep up the good work and good luck!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We visited this hotel on Friday and our first impression was gorgeous, sadly this did not follow through and we had a tepid meal, awful service, small portions and a couldn't care less attitude!

We will not be returning!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great look, the decoration of the place is impressive. The half circular bar is certainly different but if you stand at the bar you are continually disturbed by customers trying to walk past between the bar and the tables. Perhaps smaller tables in the bar area, there were no free seats so it was difficult to know where to stand!
On entering the dining room I was again impressed, it looks quite luxurious and I felt I was in for a real treat. Our orders were taken promptly and the starters followed not too long after. Then we waited.....and waited.....and waited for everyone else to be served their main. I think somehow, we had been forgotten about. It wasn't until we complained that things got moving again. We were compensated with a complementary bottle of wine and coffee, thank you.
I came away cold and hungry. The room wasn't very warm and lunch had taken sooooo long that it was almost tea time when we left!
I won't write it off completely but they need to improve. Such lovely surroundings should be backed up with good food and service!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Manor Hotel

Address: Skipton Road, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Falcon Manor Settle
Hotel Falcon Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.