We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgrace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Royal Oak to your Saves list
The Royal Oak
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Market Sq, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 16 Settle B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed in room 3 on 25/4/2015 the pub its self is spot on however as soon as you go upstairs things changed the décor is cheap and scruffy the en suite stunk of wee and there was no shower only a hand held mixer with no shower screen, the hinges on the toilet seat were green, there was also a tv cable coming through the window from the pub downstairs so the window will not close fully leaving the room open to draughts and road traffic noise, this room was like going back 30 years in time which is a pity as the pub and the breakfast were spot on, stay at the Craven arms its far better avoid the Royal Oak

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on our second day of cycling the way of the roses staff were polite and very helpful.room was clean with good selection of teas and coffees.good breakfast with quick service and we're happy to store our bikes.
Would Def return.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Check in was painless and we were soon shown to our room.

The room (room 5) had 3 single beds in, which were reasonably comfy. There is also a flat screen TV, but it's a small screen and can only be seen from 2 of the 3 beds. The room and bathroom was clean, and the shower worked ok though wasn't massively powerful.

For me, the room was reminiscent of a Travelodge room from 5 years ago....clean but basic.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and we didn't experience any noise in the room.

Breakfast was a very basic continental (cereals, toast and preserves) along with juices and tea/coffee.

Baring in mind the low cost of the hotel, it's quite sufficient for a no frills walking break. If you prefer the finer things in life, pay more and go elsewhere!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Car Park - ok and at rear of building.
Welcome -good/friendly.
Room 5 - Double at front of building was cold but clean with comfy bed, but some of drawers had no handles so no use at all. Secondary glazing was old & didn't really block the sound of the road outside. We woke up cold as quilt was not substantial enough - more togs required please! Bathroom was very plain with a dribble of a shower and a cubicle door that would not shut - really needs attention.
Breakfast was not good - paid 5 quid extra each for what seemed to be microwaved food(was it?), it was so anemic. The girls serving breakfast were very pleasant and I don't know if they cook the food, but if they do they need some guidance - the sausage looked like an anemic explosion. the plate was also flooded with beans. Self sevice tea & toast also. This was all served in "the snug" which is not snug and quite cold.
The entrance of the hotel opens on to a large open plan tiled area which is very cold and has very little character.
Decent selection of beers is the only redeeming factor.
This place has so much potential with the obvious age/history of the building - please someone have wander down to the Lions Den and see what can be done with a bit of thought/investment.
There is a good selection of other b & b's in settle - choose one of them instead unless you want
£60 quid a night digs - you definitely get what you pay for.
Would only stay here again if there was no where else & not sure if any one cares cause there are no responses to any of the other recent reviews - shame!

Room Tip: Ask for room at the rear, probably quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

There are both positive and negative comments in your reiview and both are greatly appreciated. I'm going to take up your certain points with the Royal Oak team to resolve.

we hope you do return to us and can see we take on board comments and make changes as soon as we can

Thanks
Mat
Country Village Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

just spent Saturday night in royal oak ample car parking friendly staff on arrival and found room warm comfortable and reasonable size although the bathroom was a little dated. The pub itself is very welcoming with cracking real fire real ales very clean and friendly. Although we didn't have evening meal there we did have continental breakfast. This was served between 8-9oclock we got down at 8.30 to find the pub in darkness no staff on, just a table with cereal, juice a loaf of bread and toaster with preserves no hot drinks just the two of us couldn't comment on customer service because their was no one about very strange. No one about when we left to ask if we enjoyed our stay or even pass the time of day. On the whole we did only pay £60 for the night suppose you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

I'm not sure why this happened for you at lunch time as there is meant to be a member of the team on hand for any questions or to get you hot drinks. I appreciate your feedback and will take your comments up with the Royal Oak Team

Thanks
Mat
Country Village Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

we were wandering around the town of Settle, looking for a uncrowded clean uncrowded pub, peeked through the window and saw a lovely wood fire enticing us in. in we go, very pleasant bar staff, jovial and helpful early on a quiet Friday, nice clean carpets, well decorated, clean tables nice upholstery on the chairs and settees. the ales served were both local and nationally known ones, and served up at the right temperature too. we ordered crisps and dry roasted nuts, both items were speciality ones, not the bog standard ones at other places. the music was well chosen and at the correct( to us ) volume, nice for background and atmosphere with no need to talk loudly to hear ones friends at the table. well worth a visit again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
HI
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

i'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to us.

We hope to see you again in the near future

thanks
Mat
Country Village Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Stopped for 1 night in August 2014,the place was really nice with a welcoming atmosphere,the only gripe me and a friend had was the incinerated breakfast served to us the following morning.Im not usually a one to moan,but no exaggeration,everything was burnt and not just slightly overdone,i mean burnt,this was the only thing that spoilt our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

i'm sorry we didn't quite meet with your expectations and i appreciate your feedback. I will investigate and raise your comments with the Royal Oak team

Thanks
Mat
Country Village Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Market Sq, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Country Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Settle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.