We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Littlebank Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Littlebank Country House to your Saves list
Littlebank Country House
Rathmell, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Little treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This B&B is a delightful old farm house about 2 miles out of settle, if you include the driveway.
I have to mention the drive, because it is very very long and very very knackered - do not bring your lambo or ferrari!
The owners were absolutely delightful form start to finish; very welcoming, friendly and chatty - nothing too much trouble for them.
The room was very quaint and chintzy, but in an adorable way - full of nick nacks, flouncy curtains and little touches. It was clean and cosy, and the bed was very comfy.
Highlights in the room were the amply stocked tea tray with fresh fairy cakes! and a small decanter of sherry which was one of the best touches ever - and just added a little daft something to be sipping a sherry from a proper sherry glass!
The breakfast was exemplary in every way - everyting you could possibly want - just try to resist the full english - I dare you.
They receommended places for us to eat locally and offered us a torch for the walk back from the craven arms, over the fields - but we decided to brave the drive again as it was a wet weekend.
Absolutely lovely place - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
133
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We picked this delightful place based on the earlier reviews on this site and we were delighted that everything was exactly as stated. A delightful place to stay with helpful friendly owners. Breakfast was superb, room was very comfortable and roomy. The shower was a proper powerful delight not like the miserable dribble you often get elsewhere. Were amused to see Richard rush down the Garden during breakfast and come back clutching some extra eggs from the chickens. Can't get much fresher than that eh!
We will be back again, thanks for a delightful short stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkrington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived slightly later than anticipated, being guided in whilst on the phone to our co-host Richard who could see our car in the panorama from his hotel. On arrival, it was immediately evident that Richard and Trish genuinely delight in being warm, welcoming and friendly to their guests without being in the slightest way intrusive. After a tour of the establishment, we were shown to our room, which was clean, tidy, large and spacious with a giant en-suite. In summary, it was most welcoming! Sherry had been laid on for us had we have wanted it. There were tea and coffee making facilities (lovely Yorkshire Tea) with the option of fresh milk had we have wished for it. Packets of biscuits and two home made buns with buttercream added to that personal touch. A television and DVD player meant home entertainment was never far away. They have a large library of DVDs for guests' use. There is also a games room with a pool table, table football and various other things to amuse. There was a television in there, too.

A full English breakfast or anything one wanted from it was nicely cooked the following morning with toast/cereal/fruit juice as required. Again, Richard and Trish enthused at recommending places to see in Carlisle after we made the "Settle to Carlisle" railway journey, commencing just a couple of miles away.

They made suggestions as to where to eat at night, carefully advising the need to book to avoid disappointment. My girlfriend and I headed out about ten miles to Kirkby Malham, where we enjoyed some good food at the village pub.

Cometh our last morning, we enjoyed another tasty breakfast, strolled round the developing gardens and thanked our hosts for a very enjoyable stay. Any Trip Advisor reader has it on good authority that it is highly likely they too would enjoy it too. It is certainly a venue we shall return to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B, in a lovely location. We arrived very late, but prior arrangements were made by the proprietors and it was sorted out perfectly.
The breakfast was a delight, the room was stylish, comfortable, clean but the shower was something else! We cannot recommend the Littlebank more, and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

All previous reviews sum this place up.A warm welcome,beautiful room and location.Lovely very comfortable stay.Nothing was too much trouble...even them ring round to get us a table reservation on a bank holiday weekend!.will definately return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Was treated to a surprise night away for my birthday, and this hidden gem didn't disappoint. From the beautifully decorated bedrooms, fairy cakes, sherry to help yourself too, the fantastic locally sourced breakfast and surprise balloons on my birthday morning, this place is faultless. The owners Trish and Richard really couldnt do enough for us, even giving us a lift to the local pub The Craven Arms which is a MUST, and a lift to the station in the morning - a wonderful place to stay. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fantastic location, beautiful house, lovely room - complete with home made cakes, delicious breakfasts - with locally sourced ingredients, charming hosts - just a wonderful peaceful environment. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Littlebank Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littlebank Country House

Address: Rathmell, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Littlebank Country House near Settle is the epitome of tranquility in a picturesque rural setting. This traditional farmhouse offers home-from-home comfort in four twin-bedded or double rooms, sumptuously decorated with comfortable furniture, elegant fabrics and luxurious bathrooms. Enjoy a delicious home-cooked breakfast before taking a walk in the countryside or relaxing in our extensive grounds and gardens, overlooking the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Littlebank Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Littlebank Country House Hotel Settle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Littlebank Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.