We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 words... amazingly stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Littlebank Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Littlebank Country House to your Saves list
Littlebank Country House
Rathmell, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Settle B&B and Inns
leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 words... amazingly stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

wow absolutely amazing place!
Richard & Trish are very welcoming and make you feel your more in a friends home rather than a hotel. Only stayed for 1 night, wish it was for the week, didnt want to leave! Amazing decoration throughout even down to the crockery at the breakfast table..will definately be visiting again very soon.. Thanks again Richard & Trisha for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
127
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Trish & Richard the owners go out of there way to make you feel welcome. Room we stayed in was very clean and had everything to a quality including the decanter of sherry. We had a little TV with built in DVD with a DVD library to choose from in the games room. In the games room there is a pool table, darts and a variety of board games. All free of charge!
The bedrooms were kitted out well with M&S luxury towels. We stayed for two nights but wish it was for longer. We will definately return for the lovely breakfasts.

Room Tip: The rooms are named as opposed to numbered but I can't remember the name sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

we stopped at littlebank with the delightful richard and trish as hosts. the setting is ideal. very quiet and tranquil off the beaten track , yet only a few minuets from settle. the house is really lovely , decorated to a high standard . our room was lovel , spotless and the now famous fairy cakes and decanter of sherry were waiting for us.we had a lovely free standing bath.
breakfasts were delicious. a good choice and lovely setting looking into the country. the lovely white doves were ever present. the eggs were own laid and were so tasty, richards award winning marmalade is not to be missed.

it was our wedding anniversary and richard and trish made our stay so lovely . we can see how it is so highly rated. my wife fell in love with the kitchen and said she could imagine lovely family christmases in there.

all in all could not fault it and we are so looking forwar to returning as soon as possible. if you are in settle try the talbot arms . really good food and ales and real ales and a log fire .

Room Tip: all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wowsers! What a stay. We had booked 2 nights at the Littlebank Country House and at the end of the 2 nights wished we were staying for the week! The rooms are gorgeous - clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was scrumptious and the hospitality was the highlight! Richard and Trish are lovely hosts - I can't fault them. The games room too was a great bonus - along with the fairy cakes and sherry in the room - a great touch. The location could not have been any better either - just stunning!! Thank you both for making our stay just brilliant! We'll be recommending you for a long time yet....... thanking you! xx

Room Tip: Make sure you enjoy the sherry and fairy cakes left in your room! x
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for four nights at the beginning of October in this charming dales country house run by the
very friendly and hospitable Richard & Trish. From the moment you arrive it feels like home from home. Room very comfortable with extras you would not find in a 5* hotel. Fantastic breakfast which kept you fuelled for the day. Flask of tea or coffee were offered for you take out for the day all inclusive. Great watching the birds on the feeders at breakfast woodpecker, goldfinch, chaffinch, nuthatch etc. A great place to stay in the fantastic Yorkshire Dales you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our daughter booked us in here as a surprise thank you and wow what a place. Trish and Richard are so welcoming they put you at ease as soon as you arrive. We didnt feel we were in a B&B it was just so comfortable. Location great - sadly it was raining on the Sunday but you are in the Dales. Food - you dont need Sunday lunch after a great breakfast. Relaxation - it's so quiet. Luxury - we stayed in Room Crag - hardest job, waiting for the bath to fill up, its huge!
You get lots of treats, sherry, homemade cakes on arrival and we just wish we'd booked in for longer.

Room Tip: All look good but you do get extra space in the luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Littlebank for three nights and it really is as good as all these reviews say. Richard and Trish are natural hosts,really interested in all their guests. with plenty of good suggestions for things to do in the area, and the stay was full of nice little touches like home-baked buns in the room each day. Even the obligatory getting lost was good fun! The foolproof way to find it is to stay on the A65, and then follow the provided directions - do not go into Settle first!
Settle to Carlisle railway is a great day out.

Room Tip: Only saw our own room, which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Littlebank Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littlebank Country House

Address: Rathmell, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Littlebank Country House near Settle is the epitome of tranquility in a picturesque rural setting. This traditional farmhouse offers home-from-home comfort in four twin-bedded or double rooms, sumptuously decorated with comfortable furniture, elegant fabrics and luxurious bathrooms. Enjoy a delicious home-cooked breakfast before taking a walk in the countryside or relaxing in our extensive grounds and gardens, overlooking the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Littlebank Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Littlebank Country House Hotel Settle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Littlebank Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.