We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reheated toast. Seriously, who reheats toast?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Carvery Racecourse

Castle Carvery Racecourse
Salhouse Road, Norwich nr13 6la, England (Formerly Castle Carvery)
+44 1603 720421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #377 of 666 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: At Castle Carvery you have found the ideal venue for the whole family. Castle Carvery prides itself in serving a top quality, fresh carvery served all day, which is achieved by the talented chefs. Castle Carvery at the Racecourse has an indoor multi-level fun-fort with multiple spinners, rollers and slides. The toddler area that was previously upstairs has been moved downstairs, and has been equipped with new soft toys and a ball pond. There are plenty of tables inside and outside for parents to relax, with a meal and drink while the children play.
Happisburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reheated toast. Seriously, who reheats toast?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

As a treat, I thought I'd try out the 2 for £10 breakfast on Saturday. Very unimpressed.

After paying at the bar, I was given no indication where to get my breakfast from.
So I wandered into the main restaurant section which was completely unstaffed.
I discovered plates under a cover, and eventually found the food on offer:
- Reheated toast. Seriously, who reheats toast?
- An empty section where scrambled egg was meant to be.
- An empty section where mushrooms were supposed to be.
- Baked beans
- Sausages
- Bacon

The place was practically empty, and I found myself a table. (This was at about 10.30am)
No ketchup, terrific.

Now, to be fair, the sausages and bacon were ok. (Hence 2 stars, rather than none) but the toast was stale, and the baked beans were cold.

I kept an eye on the food serving point to see if the eggs and mushrooms would arrive, but after 30 minutes, nothing appeared.

Literally no customer service, as other than the man at the bar at the other side of the restaurant, I didn't see another member of staff.

As you can probably tell, I won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    15
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch Carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Have been visiting this carvery for Sunday lunch for a few weeks now as it is always very good value and they serve an Excellant carvery.My hubby doesn't like carvery's,so he chooses off the menu, normally the lamb shank or steak and kidney pudding. He always comments on how good the food is, which for a foodie like him is high praise indeed.They must be getting the formula right as every time we have visited it is always busy.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Filling and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Are here with friends we all had the carvary which at £6.99 I thought was a bargain. Drinks were a little more pricey but not to bad. The meat was could just right. I had a bit of everything. There was plenty of veg on offer. I recommend the sweet potato mash and the normal mash both were gorgeous! I would eat here again. Oh, and it's not just a cavary, there is other stuff on the menu like ribs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hot fresh carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Having not visited The Racecourse for 2 years lunch with my friend brought me back here. We had a drink in the bar first and then at 12pm went through to the restaurant. Being one of the first in the restaurant we queued up and were soon being served fresh hot meats and Yorkshire pudding. We then helped ourselves to the piping hot fresh vegetables and such a great choice including leeks in cheese sauce, parsnips and sausages as well as all the condiments. A great meal and even better value! Will defo be back!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Such an improvement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

Wrote a review many months ago when all seemed like chaos here.since then, things have really been turned around. More staff, great atmosphere and great value food, and room for the kids to go and play while you have a chat and drink with your better half. Management at castle carvery also really help out in all aspects of serving and running this place. It's busy, so don't be annoyed if there is a little bit of wait as very popular. Well done for turning it around and credit to you all.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Carvery Racecourse also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Castle Carvery Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Carvery Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.