We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The final straw!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rushcutters Arms

Rushcutters Arms
46 Yarmouth Road | Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich NR7 0HE, England
01603 435403
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 637 restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: English, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The final straw!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have been to the Rushcutters many times over the years but in the last 2 years the standard has plummeted. Last night we had a family get together (my brother came up from London especially) and the meal and staff were both disappointing. The rib of beef had hardly any meat on it - about a tablespoon of overcooked veg, very hard (possibly reheated)potatoes and a yorkshire pudding which was inedible as it was overcooked. The chicken with chorizo was just a sad flat piece of meat and one piece of hard chorizo. The staff, though prompt were somewhat brash, clearly untrained and were unable to advise on the menu.
We won't be going again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    89
    86
    56
    45
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Norfolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not as expected, not impressed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. Staff friendly. Three members of our party had Roast, veg must have been on ration - slice of courgette, half a floret of cauliflower, 3 pieces of carrot and 3 small roast potatoes and a giant Yorkshire pudding. The go large option on the menu was an extra £1.50, you just got your dinner on a bigger plate, from what we could see you didn't get anymore food and if you wanted a 'pig in a blanket' you had to pay 80p more! Would prefer a Carvery any day than this overpriced pub grub. Dont think we would be in a rush to eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Rushcutters Arms, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Tigrum,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise for the service you received at the Rushcutters Arms. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We wont be going back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a dissapointment-this was a family meal to celebrate my birthday and clearly,I chose the wrong venue.
I booked this table weeks ago on the website which produced numerous menus, including Xmas fare.
When we arrived we were told that only the main menu and specials were available as we hadnt prebooked anything else.
One of my guests is a pescatarian but unfortunately, the best choices of fish dishes all had meat added in the form of panchetta and black pudding.So if you dont eat meat or cheese,the option was a vegetable pie which turned out to be a soggy suet concoction with insipid looking more vegetables to accompany it.
Those of us that chose a roast were served with the same anemic veg ,burnt potatoes and a minute amount of tepid gravy.
We waited soo long for desert only for some to be sold out so we gave up and just ordered coffee.The waiter decided that the best way to serve these was to slide them down the table to us at the far end-Im not sure if we were expected to drink the spillage from the saucers!!
Needless to say, we wont be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Rushcutters Arms, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear gibbsc1,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise for the portion of service you received at the Rushcutters Arms. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very poor!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Turned up Tuesday at about 7pm when on business in Norwich for a meal and drink. Told no tables but I managed find a spare one near to the ladies toilet. Told the barman and ordered a steak and ale pie. sat down. Nothing after 25mins so went to see where my meal was. Was told it wouldn't be long. After 40mins had enough went to bar cancelled order. Female member of staff apologised and offered to find out where it was, I declined and offered to pay just for my drink. She kindly told me that it was on the house, thanks!
God knows how they will cope when the proper rush starts!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Rushcutters Arms, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Steve G,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise for the portion of food you received at the Rushcutters Arms. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having been several times before we expected more of the same - reasonable food & service. We were initially disappointed but then rather amused. We were sent to table 32 & pointed in the right direction - not taken- the table was set with 3 chairs & 1 high chair so we swapped some furniture with the next table but staff didn't appear to notice. We were given our menus & the waitress came half an hour later to take our order but before doing so warned us they were out of chicken. pork & beef despite our table only being booked for 7.30pm.If we had been told this when we arrived we would have tried the new Indian down the road. The staff serving us had gone by 10 so told us to go to the bar if we needed anything - really strange & got the impression we should leave. Food on this occasion was average - fish pie was dire - very bland & veg with no taste seemed likely to be frozen & we are not likely to return in a hurry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rushcutters Arms also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Rushcutters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushcutters Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.