We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick you time to visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marsh Harrier

Marsh Harrier
Ipswich Road, Norwich, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #385 of 662 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $21 - $31
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pick you time to visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A couple of friends had suggested a visit, as they thought it was worth a try.Unfortunately our visit was nothing to shout about.I dont know if we arrived at a change of shift,but we had to wait quite some time to be seated,and again for our order to be taken,and yes you have guessed it,for our food to arrive,however once it did, it was fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    72
    56
    56
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Even though this is part of a chain ( Vintage Inns ) we found it very welcoming with reasonably priced food and great Adnams real ales
Staff were friendly and helpful , we used it as it is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn where we were staying

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shocking service from the managment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My partner and I are getting married in April, 8 years after our first date at the Marsh Harrier, As we are only planning a small wedding (c. 25 people) we thought it would be nice to have the reception at the same place.

Sadly, despite the front line staff trying to be as helpful as possible, they were badly let down by the managment team, I had to try several times to get through to someone as promised return calls were never made. Quite surprising as we were offering to put 25 paying customers into the pub on a wednesday afternoon!

Finally I decided to arrange a meeting with the manager Andy to finalise everything as we had no contact from the restaurant at all. His general attitude came across as though he considered himself too important to deal with such trivial matters as customer service, his first response to my request to have a meeting was

'well when do you want to do it, cos ive got a meeting'

I explained that I didnt want to put him out and we agreed to meet up one lunchtime, When my partner and I got away from work (not easy for both of us, as we are both line managers in the same company), We arrived on time only to be told 'Sorry, Andy has gone to the Gym'!

Needless to say we have cancelled our booking, and I would advise anyone considering using this restaurant as anything other than a spot for sunday lunch to be very careful, Its obvious that the managment literally cannot manage a p**s up in a brewery!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Food what you would expect for the price! Waitress a credit to the venue(Ami) disabled toilet a disgrace; needs to be reported to health and safety.
Please take note before someone becomes seriously unwell!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“meeting with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

have used the Marsh Harrier many times to meet friends and never had a bad meal. Staff are very friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsh Harrier also viewed

 

Been to Marsh Harrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsh Harrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.