We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marsh Harrier

Marsh Harrier
Ipswich Road, Norwich, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #385 of 662 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $21 - $31
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were taken to this lovely pub by friends and were pleasantly surprised by the excellent choice of food and the quality of the meals. We were seated near to a cosy log fire, on a very chilly, snowy night and served by a very efficient, polite waiter. All of our food and drinks were on a single bill, which we were able to share with our friends, each using our own cards. We will certainly re-visit when we are next in Norwich.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    72
    56
    56
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An actual Marsh Harrier may have tasted better!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visited this place in March 2013.
Staff were rude and stressed out. Food menu had more “Not available” than was available not acceptable really. Told us it was unlikely that out meals would arrive at the same time &( with a snappy tone) the drinks must be paid for in cash when delivered. Bizarre!
So when the final choice was made the dish was, to say the least, poor and amateurish. Chicken Goujons (ex frozen supermarket style) dressed as coconut crumbed coated chicken followed by a Mixed grill containing tasteless over cooked Leather for sirloin and Lamb that was clearly under cooked.
You’ll have to have it their way not yours I’m afraid!

Summary:
Terrible food
Terrible service
Terrible place
Terrible night
Never ever again.
There are some nice paces to eat in Norwich, this is not one of them. Drive past and drive on!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a lovely Mother's Day meal seated in front of a log fire with snow falling at the windows. Great food and great service. The coffee is lovely and I always feel that if the coffee is good then the food is good. Well done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Visited the Marsh Harrier whilst staying in the Holiday Inn up the road. I have many times over the years and to be honest the standard has gone up and down over the years from excellent to shocking and back again a few times. At the moment though it seems to be at the better end of the scale.

The menu is wide ranging with all of the expected pub options, plus a few other options you wouldn't normally find. I visited on a Wednesday night which was 'Pie Night' so there was a range of additional pies on offer with a drink included. I think this is one of a range of 'theme' nights they do on food.

I had a steak which was well cooked and the accompanying onion rings and chips were also well cooked. The food is fairly priced, not expensive, but not cheap either.

There is a good range of wines and beers and the real ales are kept very well.

The staff are attentive and efficient without being over bearing and are also very friendly. The atmosphere of the pub is very good, it is quiet without lacking atmosphere and is a nice place to sit having a meal.

I would happily recommend the Marsh Harrier for a meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Warm Friendly Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went to the Marsh Harrier on 23/02/13 lunchtime.
The food was first class, open lit fireplace, friendly atmosphere, waiter extremely quick we nicknamed him "flash" to his amusement.
We had a lovely time and would recommend them to family and friends.
Lorraine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsh Harrier also viewed

 

Been to Marsh Harrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsh Harrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.