We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pedro's Mexican Cantina

Pedro's Mexican Cantina
Chapel Field North, Norwich NR2 1NY, England
+44 1603 614725
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 616 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Pedros do fantastic food and plenty of it but it gets too crowded when the vouchers are in the paper. When I booked I asked if we could have one of the bench seat tables but was told that they keep them for parties of 4 and there were 2 of us. We had to sit in the bar to wait for a table for about ten minutes (we were already 10 minutes late as it was) they put us on a little table near the wall for 2 then they sat other couples on the bench seat tables so I wasn't very happy about that! Another thing is you have to pick from a certain menu, one of you can't have steak - I don't know why as you'd still pay fort he dearest meal and they'd be making more money!!! If the food & the service wasn't so good I wouldn't go again. Also they charge too much for a bottle of lager!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    81
    34
    18
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always party time in Pedro's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been eating at this restaurant for over 10 years, always vibrant atmosphere - food is consistently good. If you are after authentic Mexican then the food at Pedro's is not strictly authentic however its tasty, well priced and overall a fun place to eat!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mexican at it's best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great atmosphere, great staff, great food, great music, great prices!
Can you tell we like it?
We're regulars & will remain so!!!!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nachos in Norwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Recommended by student daughter during a quick 1-day visit - a very pleasant meal, friendly and informed service, a calm ambience (at least, during early evening), and Mexican food to a high standard (although I'm no expert). Looks to have been established a fair few number of years. Certainly popular as pre-booking was recommended. Would go again to taste more of the menu. Portions are large so we shared dishes which is a good idea for those not keen to "pig it".
Sombreros optional but added fun!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Taste of Mexico”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Visited many times. We've never been disappointed with the food. We have noticed that the quantity seems to have decreased over the years. That said, the meal size used to be ridiculous. Never had a meal I didn't like. You can get into the swing if you want to wear mexican hats. Birthdays are usually fun (be sure to tell them). Only gripe, a few years ago I put a small tear in my jeans from a nail sticking out of my bench seat. I mentioned this to staff but they weren't really interested. I should have pushed the matter. Either way, this was a while ago. They do take away but I'm usually disappointed with this. The discount isn't great, only 10% if my memory serves. They do their best to package the food up but it just not the same and the portion sizes seem smaller.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedro's Mexican Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Pedro's Mexican Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedro's Mexican Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.