We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large meals, so full.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinocchio's Restaurant

Pinocchio's Restaurant
11 St Benedicts Street, Norwich NR2 4PE, England
+44 (0)1603 613318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 634 restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $11 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pinocchio���s restaurant is a stylish Italian brasserie and Norwich institution.Owned by the expert team behind The Library and St Benedict���s Grill, the restaurant has a traditional listed shop front, and the dining room is simply decorated and furnished. Huge murals complement basic, comfortable seating and immaculately laid tables, and stripped wooden floors give the room a rustic warmth. They serve a wide range of traditional and contemporary Italian cuisine for every occasion, including stone-baked pizzas; authentic pastas; steaks and grills; classic meat and fish dishes; as well as tempting antipasti platters and entrees. As always, with an Italian meal, there���s nothing finer (or more indulgent!) than finishing with a sumptuous dessert like tiramisu or roast peach and raspberry semifreddo, or even a rich glass of dessert wine. Loyal customers rate the buzzing atmosphere, extensive menu and interesting pasta and pizza dishes; Pinocchio���s restaurant is ideal for a family meal, catching up with friends or even a romantic dinner �� deux.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Large meals, so full.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a really nice starter to share of anti pasti, we got so much and was really good. Few problems with the main, calzone was not totally cooked and other main they brought the wrong order. They said we could wait 25mins to get the correct order or have the incorrect order for free. Overall the service was good and really nice place to come on a night out :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    69
    39
    25
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently visited Pinochio's by recommendation as we normally eat at their sister restaurant next door (St Benedict's), which is our fave anyway and always will be.

At first we expected the usual pizza / pasta sort of Italian but there is so much more to it! The menu is varied and each of us had something different. The duck is to die for and the Sea Bass was lush. The atmosphere is relaxed and choice of music just spot on. Quite eclectic wine list for an Italian place and the best Irish coffee in town. Also, I was positively shocked to see that they do pizza for collection at £6.95 only???? Wow! That's very good compared to some well known high street brands. They open at 17.00 so why not pick it up after work on my way home? Tea sorted.
Well done! Next stop. The Library :)
Enjoy your meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food and giant portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The restaurant has a good atmosphere and nice decor and the staff are friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The prices are great considering the quality and quantity of food.

The food here is delicious. The portions are very, very big so think twice before having a starter. No-one in my party could finish their mains despite everyone agreeing that the food was fantastic.

I will definitely return soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Met with a friend on a very cold Wednesday evening. Not very busy in there (probably weather related) but I liked the feel of the place and its location. I opted for the two courses for £10 (he 3 for £14) as it was before 7pm. My chum had a fig starter and we both had pizza. These took a little time to arrive but worth the wait. Great pizza. I had goat's cheese, spinach and mushroom - really delicious. Pud was tiramisu. Not an easy one to get right in my humble opinion. This was the second best I've ever eaten. Flavours of orange and coffee. Yum! I'm not a foodie and generally dislike people who are! but this place can't be beaten for value for money. Better by far than Pizza Express who are now next door. Lad who served us was good and chatty too. Will certainly be back. Thanks!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited here on Saturday for a birthday celebration with family. Staff very friendly and were great with the two young children with us. Some of the food was nice and large portions. The burnt garlic bread let it down slightly and I wouldnt have chosen to serve it like that ! The panna cotta for dessert was rock solid and served in a slices not even a hint of a wobble which was disappointing. Maybe we were slightly unlucky and I would return to give it another go. This place definitely preferable to a larger chain restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinocchio's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pinocchio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinocchio's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.