We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and attentive service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Benedicts Restaurant

St Benedicts Restaurant
9 St Benedicts, Norwich NR2 4PE, England
+44 (0)1603 765377
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
St Benedicts Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 665 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: St Benedict's is an authentic French bistro in Norwich's quirky St Benedict's Street. Friendly and relaxed, the dining room attracts Francophiles and fashionistas alike, and is perfect for an indulgent late-night meal, post-shopping pick-me-up or a chic chocolat chaud with friends. We love the slow-cooked crispy duck with braised chicory balsamic reduction and grilled naval orange and the double baked cheese souffle. St Benedict's warm, Van-Gogh-esque navy and yellow interior, sensational wine list and fantastically French waiting staff will transport you across the channel before you can say steak frites.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We popped in for lunch today for our first visit, we had the special lunch menu 2 courses for £10 and for what we paid the quality was amazing, the prawn and potato starter was beautiful as was the pork belly, would have loved a bit of crakcling with it but it was still beautifully cooked.thank you to all your staff
Ben and jules

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Tried hard but not quite there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Taken here on first visit to Norwich . The restaurant is in a lovely place and coolly decorated . The menu was fairly standard English fare . Was disappointed with much of it though. Starter of smoked pigeon breast - who could tell. The meat wa so fridge cold the flavour had no opportunity to come through . tender though . Hake with mash and French peas followed . The fish was a generous piece and well cooked , with very good fondant mash but the peas were overcooked and not my understanding of French peas - no sign of braised lettuce ,sugar, butter and mint .Tasty fish though and good to see hake on a menu other than in Spanish restaurants . Pudding was a very densely flavoured bitter chocolate tart with pistachio icecream - a miniscule dollop and very frozen . The ice cream was not able to offset the density of the tart and I wasn't sure what type the pastry was . What should have been an really good mouthful was a chore to eat . Others had a cheese souffle starter that was far too much like a fondue and a heavy start to a meal, fortunately they shared it but didn't finish . Beef and duck were their other mains both adequately but not memorably cooked and flavoured.Couldnt be bothered with pudding. The star of the meal though was a really excellent white organic Torrontes, very well priced and delicious to quaff. Service was very professional and knowledgeable. Given the plethora of places to eat in Norwich it would be a while before I went back .Maybe tuesday nights is the chefs slow night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“a GREAT experience from start to finish!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My lady friend; her elder brother (visiting from Kilmarnock (Scotland)); and 2 of our closest friends ate a celebratory meal here on Saturday 26th October. The last time we visited here was a Valentine's meal a few years ago. We will not leave such a large gap between visits again.

The overall experience could not have been bettered; our celebratory evening was as close to being perfect as you could wish for; and the prices charged are extremely reasonable too!!

I arranged a bottle of quality Champagne on arrival; and some white wine; but requested that a decent red wine be selected on arrival. I also requested an arrangement of flowers for the table for my lady friend.

We were greeted by thee 'main man' on arrival; the serving staff were all very polite and the service was very good. The 'main lady' suggested a few red wines to my guests.

Every need was catered for throughout the entire evening.

The 3 Thai-style crab cake starters; and the pea soup starter were GREAT!

The 3 lamb main courses; the pan-fried hake main course and the rib-eye steak main course were GREAT!

The 2 rhubarb crumble desserts; the 2 salted caramel mousse desserts; and the chocolate-based dessert were GREAT!!

The bottle of Champagne; the house white wine (Chilean sauvignan blanc); the recommended red wine (Lebanese); the dessert wines; ports and sherry were GREAT!!

The service and presentation and staff recommendations throughout the evening were GREAT!!

The price charged for such a wonderful dining experience (£245.00 for 5 very satisfied customers) was GREAT!!

We will be back again very soon; and thank you for making our celebratory evening so, without wishing to appear repetitive, GREAT!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT BIRthday party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

From start to finish the staff at the st benedict restaurant can't do enough for you. The organisation and planning of my wife's 40th birthday party was seamless and all of our 18 guests thought the food and service was excellent ...fantastic night and would not hesitate to book again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Our first time and we're really impressed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a lovely find we had today with St Benedicts Restaurant. On offer over the lunch period was a fixed price 2 course meal for £10 each and it was so good we upgraded to 3 courses for £12.95. We had mackerel with chorizo to start which also came with small salad garnish and butternut squash puree. It was delicious.

We followed that with pork belly, curly kale (glazed with cream) roast paprika potatoes, crackling and apple sauce. It was perfect. We then had raspberry and (I believe) blackberry trifle with cream and fresh raspberries on top. A good sized portion and nicely presented in glass pots. We finished off with coffee.

Amazing value. Food was piping hot and service was great. Couldn't fault it at all and we will most definitely go again and recommend it to many others. Thank you for a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Benedicts Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to St Benedicts Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Benedicts Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.