We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge - Norwich

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Rouge - Norwich
29 Exchange Street, Norwich NR2 1DP, England
+44 (0)1603 624230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #282 of 666 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very friendly service, food was very good ( dessert was delicious) , I'm sure I will come soon with whole family . Not expensive menu . For me time in this restaurant was a really nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    56
    32
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been to the one in St Albans on many occasion and always had excellent food and service so we thought that we would try our local one. We arrived at around 19.30 and was seated we waited almost 40 min before our order was taken then we had to wait another 30 min for our starter, I ordered another drink which did not come so I had to remind them when our main was delivered. The main meal was very nice but the portion size was small compared to what we have previously had at other Cafe Rouge's. At the end we were given the wrong bill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not up to the usual standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As a chain, Cafe Rouge is usually a reliable, known quantity but this was a disappointing visit. I don't think it was the fault of the staff, there just weren't enough of them! The restaurant was very hot, which is unusual to experience nowadays and because only one person was working in the kitchen service was slow. I think that waiting staff should have some dispensation to offer complimentary drinks to customers when this happens. They were apologetic about this and about the items that had run out, and were creative about producing a pudding for us. Hopefully this was just a blip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Better than expected on a rainy Monday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I don't normally go to chains like Cafe Rouge if I can help it, but on a wet Monday with nine hungry friends it was a case of the first place we could find.

We weren't disappointed. Although the restaurant was short staffed as they weren't expecting much business, and that days delivery from head office hadn't arrived, we were looked after very well. The waitress was very attentive considering she seemed to be working the room on her own. She was also very patient - ten people dithering about what to eat (and dividing the bill at the end) must be very trying.

The food was fine even though some dishes came slightly differently to the menu (eg we were warned there was no spinach but the substitutions were intelligent and worked well). The house red was perfectly drinkable and the total bill quite fair (we didn't have any vouchers with us otherwise the value score would be better).

Because there was only one chef on duty the meal took a couple of hours for two courses, but all the starters and mains came out more or less together. A party of ten would probably have taken that long even if there were ten chefs so we weren't bothered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I went hereon Sunday the 21st of July, & we were really impressed with the service & food, the cleanliness of the restaurant and toilets was over and above the usual standard.
Thank you for a lovely experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Norwich also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge - Norwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.