We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable chain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Fyne

Loch Fyne
30 - 32 St Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1LL, England
01603 723450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #292 of 616 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $31 - $92
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Loch Fyne restaurants present a fine selection of fresh shellfish and oysters, along with seasonal fish and seafood specials. Each restaurant is rustic yet contemporary, with an elegant ambience. Grilled meat dishes are available at Loch Fyne, along with a popular kids menu. All of the fresh seafood is sustainably sourced. Remember from 20th July the kids eat free with every paying adult, This runs for the whole summer school break. If you have any special offer cards or vouchers please make sure they are valid for your booking and booking is advisable.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Reliable chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were in Norwich and we decided to go to Loch Fyne. We fancied some fish at this is a reliable chain for decent seafood. We were surprised to find the place almost full on a Tuesday evening. The service was fine. We did not have to wait too long for our food. The food was good. It was pretty much the same in terms of atmosphere, food and everything else, as several other Loch Fyne’s I’ve been to in other towns. So, there were no surprises, either good or bad. While I have no complaints about the restaurant as a whole, I would say that the ambience is not really conducive to ‘going out to celebrate a special occasion’.
I went for the Lobster Bisque (excellent) followed by Seafood Tagliatelle (very good) and my wife had Scottish Rope-Grown Mussels followed by Seared Scottish Scallop and Watercress Salad. She gave her meal lower marks than I did for mine. She had had Crème Brulee for desert and she thought that better than the average. I gave pudding a miss. We had a very decent bottle of Val Colombe Viognier to wash it all down. The bill came to around £65.
I would say that Loch Fyne is good but nothing special. You can eat better that this for the same price in Norwich.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    117
    67
    44
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was really looking forward to the meal at Loch Fyne but left feeling very disappointed. Ordered the salmon, only to be told they only had small bits for the grill not for a main. They also had no mussels, ended up with cod and chips. Asked for normal peas but got given mushy peas (although this was later corrected). Chips were some of the worst I have ever had (like oven chips that had been over fried). Only good thing was the cod was fresh and flaky and of a good size portion. But very expensive. Service was very slow and we had to ask for side orders they forgot. Not a good visit, I would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our experience of Loch Fyne was that the sea food was very very good, the staff very friendly and helpful and the service excellent.
The only negative we encountered was that the leek risotto starter that my wife ordered, had far too much garlic in it, so much so that she couldn't finish the dish. The waiter did deduct the price of the started from the bill, which we hadn't expected or asked for, but it was a nice gesture.
Other than that, we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and would certainly recommend the restaurant to anyone visiting Norwich.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich norfolk gt britain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“easy dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I really like loch fine I am a big fish fan,i like the no fuss attitude of the place its well organized staff are pleasant and always a good selection of fresh fish,and the daily blackboard is always a good deal at a good price,.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Seafood heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After trolling around Norwich trying to find somewhere to eat, we spotted the Loch Fyne sign and knew we had arrived at a high-standard eatery. Food was great, service excellent and very close to the Town Centre

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne also viewed

 

Been to Loch Fyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Fyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.