We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, would come again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Guest House to your Saves list
Abbey Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   16 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, would come again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

For the money and convenience, the Abbey Hotel is definitely one of the best places to stay in Norwich.

I stayed at the Abbey Hotel in late July for five nights before I left Norwich after graduating from UEA. I had an excellent stay there, which is in a handy location near the train station, within 15 minutes walk to Morrisons and 20 minutes walk to the city centre.

It is not fair to expect a 5-star service for this competitive price, but I was really surprised to see how lovely and friendly the hotel is! My room is very clean and well-decorated in Victorian style. The bathroom is excellent and the shower is even better than the one in Travelodge Norwich Central Station! Full English breakfast and anything requested was granted. I had free wifi throughout the hotel. Best of all, Mandy and David are very friendly and helpful. Since I was on the move and had lots of heavy luggages with me after my 3-year study, Mandy and David provided me useful advices in the shipping and helped me in moving the luggages up and down the stairs.

The Abbey Hotel is superb value for money and I will stay there again.

Highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
13
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just back from Norwich where I spent a week at the Abbey Hotel
Mein hosts Mandy and David very friendly,clean and resonable priced.
Full english breakfast and anything requested was granted
Easy access to the railway station and city centre for sight seeing and shopping.
Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Fresh towels and linen every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

If you want a clean and friendly hotel near the Railway Station in Norwich - then stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany Berlin, Stuttgart
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

If you like to stay in an ugly decorated room with old, cheap and dated furniture, a bathroom next door from the last century and a lot of improvisation this is the right place to go. Wifi works, it's clean and it's just a 5-minutes walk to the station but that's all. Owners are friendly and attentive, but they should transfer the guest house into the 21. century. If the Stracey hotel in the same street next door is available, stay there! It's worth the extra money and you feel like living in the year 2011.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed here one night to attend a business event. Very close to train station which was perfect,it took me 10 minutes to stroll to the station from the hotel.. Easy to walk into town centre to socialise etc. The owners/managers were extremely helpful, polite and friendly. I actually got an upgraded room so was very lucky. The room and bed were very clean. The bathroom was immaculate. The full English Breakfast was lovely and very welcome, served from 7.30 to 9;30. Tea and coffee was available in rooms. TV in all rooms with freeview. This is a good, clean, friendly basic hotel for a city stay.I will be visiting Norwich again quite a lot for business and intend to use this hotel whenever I can. I would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

My room was so small that it felt like a cell, and it was very hot (the heat came from under the floor - presumably I was sleeping above the hot water boiler). Even with the window wide open, I still felt stifled. The loo and bathroom were tiny with fittings to match (the basins are so small that you can only wash your hands in them) and the whole feel of the place is rather "third world". If you're wanting something cheap then this is your place. But I think that even somewhere this cheap could offer a little more. For me, staying here was a thoroughly depressing experience.

Room Tip: Cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Stayed at various small hotels on Stracey Road over the years and enjoyed staying here. Small run no-frills hotel with friendly owners. Less than 5 minutes walk to station and into town.
Greeted with warm welcome and glass of orange. Shown to room and made welcome. On street parking with hotel permit right outside the hotel.
Breakfast was good.
Hotel very clean and tidy.
Only down side was inconsiderate people coming in at 0500 in the morning crashing and banging and then those stood outside smoking and chatting right under my room.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Address: 16 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.