We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of Norwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles House Hotel

Save Saved
You added St Giles House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Giles House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 - 45 St Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 hotels in Norwich
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Norwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was unaware of this place until we went there for a Christmas function, and what a find it is! Within a couple of minutes walk of the Market Place this lovely old building offers large, comfortable and beautifully furnished bedrooms. Staff are friendly, polite and helpful and there is also a decent sized car park , unusual for a hotel so close to a city centre. We paid £130 for bed and breakfast and had no complaints with that. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order and offered some variety from the usual Full English. Eggs Benedict are always a welcome offering and they were done to perfection. My wife had poached haddock with poached egg and this too was beautfifully done.
We look forward to our next stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for your recent review, such kind words

So pleased you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    87
    29
    20
    17
See reviews for
21
152
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great location, great room with awesome bathroom. Lovely reception staff just shame we got muddled on Sunday night deal. Could do with waiters knowing what you can/ can't have in the evening as a reminder. Don't let this put you off though as minor. Norwich is fab - perfect as City break to get Christmas shopping done without the stress.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for your recent feedback, sorry about the mix up regarding the waiting team

Look forward to seeing your back with us

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a really excellent boutique-style hotel in the heart of Norwich. Rooms are clean, stylish and have some good old fashioned furniture too. Staff were faultless, polite and helpful and the breakfast was good too. There is a car park at the back which was a little hard to get at but easy to get to the hotel once inside. All in all a thoroughly decent hotel, which combines modern touches with period features behind a grand façade about a minutes walk from the market square.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for your recent review. Its great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will pass on your fantastic feedback to the rest of the team

Hope to see you soon

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Booked for a one night stay on a Friday and spent Saturday shopping in Norwich City centre, which was a great experience and one I hope to repeat, Norwich is an Impressive City and I can't believe I hadn't thought to go there before!

The Hotel is fantastic, as are all of the Staff we encountered during our short stay. The room was clean, nicely decorated and well appointed with a fabulous shower and facilities. The Bistro is very good and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the price of my booking included a three course dinner, when I thought I was booked on a B&B basis. The quality of the food was superb and very nicely presented, the waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive.

Overall, couldn't be happier and will definitely return to enjoy a slightly longer stay next time and explore this lovely city a bit more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for your recent review. Its really important to receive feedback this helps us grow as a business.

It also great to read so a positive review. Its great to see you found the service provided by the staff was fantastic. Keep an eye out on our website for some great offers in the new year

Thanks again

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After visiting Norwich for our annual Christmas shopping weekend ( for many years now) we thought we would try a new hotel.
Wow were we glad we did.
From the helpful receptionist we rang when we could not find the car park to the chief who worried if we were warm enough while waiting in our gowns to enter the Spa, the staff were the most polite and helpful we have experienced in a very long time.
The rooms were beautiful, clean and very well equipped, not to mention warm and cosy!
The beds were extremely comfortable with immaculate bedding linen.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was wonderful.
All four of us selected different dishes and no one was disappointed.
Breakfast was also a joy, freshly cooked, plenty of choice and delicious coffee.
The location is perfect for a shop to drop trip as everything is on your doorstep.
Only miner down point is that there is no wet area in Spa just treatment rooms but that said we all had a full body massage after a long day on our feet and it was amazing.
A truly fabulous place to stay.
We have booked for next year already.
# # # # #

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide is with such positive feedback on your recent visit to St Giles House. All the staff continually strive to deliver excellent customer service and to make our guests' stay a special one. Therefore it was really heartwarming to read your comments.

I shall pass your comments on to the team and look forward to welcoming you to St.Giles for next year's Christams Shopping excursion!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Excellent accommodation, food, staff and Spa recommend to anybody evening meal provided was 10times better than Jamie Oliver place in Norwich.
The quality of he food was so good from a set menu the chicken was as tender as I have ever tasted before the starter was delicious and the cheese and biscuits for 1 person could have fed 3 this was a real treat.
The staff were truly wonderful nothing we asked was too much trouble and it was so nice to hear that everybody working there enjoyed their jobs and loved the owners of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to St Giles House.

It's great to see our Staff, Hotel accommodation, Bar, Bistro and Spa contributed to making your experience a great one.

I'll pass your praise on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again at St. Giles House Hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was our third stay at this hotel. Very disappointing. The housekeeping let it down badly. There was no soap in the bathroom, a clothes tag from M& S on the floor and believe it or not the previous visitors ladies dirty underwear in a bedside drawer! The staff took it away and gave us a bottle of bubbly to compensate but we do not expect this at £130 a night! Our room was quite small and the bed seemed small considering we paid for a king size. Breakfast was just okay but staff were surly, I asked the waitress to take our plates away, she looked me as though it was not her job and took them away without a word. I think she was annoyed that I had asked her to do this instead of waiting. Even though I reported these things no further compensation was offered to encourage us to make a return visit. I think the staff need to make a bigger effort to make the visitor feel special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks for your recent review. I was in fact the Duty Manager on shift that evening and I told you then the embarrassment i felt and I still do today!

I will investigate what happened the Saturday morning regarding breakfast and the service you received. Its unacceptable

As stated in your review this is the third time with us so please don't give up on us please give us a second chance

Regards

Chris Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Address: 41 - 45 St Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.