We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but I'm afraid road noise can be an issue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St Giles House Hotel to your Saves list
St Giles House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 - 45 St Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Great Yarmouth, England
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but I'm afraid road noise can be an issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I’ve wanted to stay at this hotel ever since it was featured in TV documentary so when we were going to a concert at the UEA my husband booked a night here as a surprise. I must say the hotel has been restored nicely and is pretty elegant. We found all the staff to be really friendly and attentive to our needs. Our room was nicely decorated although very dark, the bathroom was very pretty with a roll top bath (sadly no time to try) my worry with room was that it was situated on the front of the hotel and the road outside seemed quite busy, as a very light sleeper I wondered if this could be a problem.....sadly it was. The traffic seemed pretty incessant throughout the night and thus I didn’t get much sleep, that being said my husband slept fine! We didn’t eat dinner in the hotel but breakfast was included in our rate and the full English breakfast was ordered and cooked to order (rather than buffet style) the food was good quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hello

Thanks for you recent review

We try to match the service with the grandeur of the Hotel and are pleased to hear you enjoyed both the elegance of the the building and our friendly and attentive staff.

We make a conscious effort to be different from the other Hotels that's why we offer both a buffet table full of cereals, fresh fruit and juices. Along side that a cooked breakfast offering a Traditional English to Eggs Benedict.

Sorry you found your room a little noisy. Unfortunately being a city centre Hotel that problem will arise. Next time ask for a room at the back of the Hotel and hopefully you'll be able to try our gorgeous baths.

Thanks

Chris Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    108
    37
    21
    18
See reviews for
30
187
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We recently visiting the St Giles House Hotel for a afternoon cream tea as part of my friends hen party celebrations. There was 10 of us attending and as there was a wedding on the same day we were offered a private room free of charge which was beautifully decorated. The service was warm and friendly as they presented us with our menus and also offered to supply us with an ipod and docking station so we could listen to some music. We order to bottles of fizz that were very reasonably priced. In sandwiches we were given were lovely and fresh and there was plenty for the 10 of us. the cakes were amazing, a scone and victoria sponge each that were huge and fresh, along with some macaroons and chocolate brownies. We had so much left that they boxed them up for us to take home. The tea and coffee (including decaff) was continually topped up for us. The total cost of each of us including a glass and half of fizz was about £18 each which is extremely reasonable given the extortionate prices I have been charged previously and for an experience half as good. We do not feel rushed at all, it was lovely and relaxed and after we had finished they left us to chat for a good half an hour and to leave at our own pace which was nice. I have recommended this place to so many people already and I think it will definitely be a regular visit each time I visit Norwich.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a private room for your cream tea if there is 10+ of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOrwich
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked St Giles Hotel's Afternoon Tea for my sister's 30th. We were very pleased with the food, beautifully presented, lots of it too which isn't always the case with afternoon tea.

Our waitress was lovely, very friendly and helpful. We had planned to go on somewhere else for an afternoon cocktail however we decided to stay as we were made to feel very welcome and the cocktail list was very good. The strawberry mojito has delicious.

Would definitely recommend. All in all a very pleasant afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your recent review

Really pleased you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and glad your enjoyed the service given by our waiting team.

The cocktails are delicious aren't they. Even better on a Sunday as they're 2-4-1!! Fantastic!!

We hope to see you again very soon

Chris Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canvey island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here just one night on a cycle trip with friends. Really welcoming, receptionist was a great first impression for the hotel. Room high standard. I did not eat in but everything here was on the money.

Room Tip: I was in room 4, it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your recent review of our Hotel. Its really important we receive feedback this helps us to train where we are maybe lacking in the views of our guests.

Receptionists are a Hotel first impression and we have some truly great ones here so i'm pleased you noticed

Hope to see you again soon. Next time you might be able to pop into our award winning restaurant

Thanks

Chris Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The title says it all. This is a stunning building, inside, outside and all around it is classically Georgian. That's partly why we chose it for our wedding. The other reason we chose it was because of Alice - the wedding planer - she was brilliant: a unique combination of friendly and professional. Sadly, that's where the good news stops. Our wedding breakfast was very inconsistent. Some of the food was cold, some hot, and some tepid, and the portions were just as inconsistent: ranging from large, to medium, to small: if this were a clothes shop that would have been fine but it's not. It's meant to be an AA two rosette hotel serving high quality food but quite frankly if they haven't sorted out the quality of the food since December 2012 then I don't think it deserves those rosettes... pansies perhaps, but not rosettes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I visited St. Giles House on 27th April to celebrate my birthday, as soon as we walked through the front doors to reception I knew we were going to enjoy this stay. We felt totally relaxed from the word go. The hotel is tastefully decorated and has a real home charm feel. Our room was spacious and had a huge shower and for one who has trouble sleeping I slept like a log on a very comfy bed. The food in the restaurant was superb and the staff throughout the entire hotel were friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. This hotel is a real gem and will be coming back time after time I'm sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOWESTOFT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've reviewed St Giles before but as this was a different sort of break i thought i'd come back and do it again!
We had the spa exclusive package - private use of the lounge area all day with a champagne breakfast, we could have been forgotten being shut off in the lounge but staff regularly came and checked on us and brought more drinks whenever we needed them.
We then had treatments in the Spa, 1 in the morning and 1 in the afternoon, the staff there were lovely, and we came out totally relaxed. In the evening we had drinks in the bar then a meal in the restaurant, all of which were great, and a really good breakfast in the morning.
It's the little things that make a really good hotel and the staff at St Giles definitely go out of their way to do this, from bringing birthday cake up to our room, and keeping balloons, banners and all our other bits and bobs safe while we went out in the evening they certainly succeeded.
I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Address: 41 - 45 St Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.