We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St Giles House Hotel to your Saves list
St Giles House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 - 45 St Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Group Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have just returned from a 4 day stay. We had room 18 which overlooked the road but was not noisey and was very comfortable, has a good bathroom with an excellent shower but no bath. This did not worry us as we never use one. The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly even when extremely busy. The food was excellent and the carpark was a bonus. NOTE this hotel has no signage and is easy to drive past as we did, you then fall into the Black Hole which is Norwich city centre, which is pleasant to walk around but a nightmare to drive in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    108
    37
    21
    18
See reviews for
30
187
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in August as a surprise one night stay for my 30th Birthday.The hotel has an excellent location in the city center, the free parking is a nice perk and makes the hotel quite attractive as a base to explore the city. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in room 17 which is was a lovely decorated room,very clean and had a lovely roll top bath which was a real treat, my wife did comment she was disappointed that the website described luxury toiletries but when we got there she was a little disappointed to find neutrogena products. I will mention that the room was very hot, a fan was provided but this was so noisy it kept my wife awake.As with a lot of older hotels we could hear every move the room above made. We ate in the restaurant as part of the DBB deal which gave us a choice of a 3 course set menu or a £30 allowance towards the ala carte menu. We choose from the ala carte menu and it was very enjoyable food, all cooked and presented very well,prices were what you would expect for this standard of food. The breakfast was nice with a good choice and friendly service but was a little let down as they had run out of yogurts and pastry's. I also had a neck shoulder and back massage in the spa and this was very enjoyable, the lady was very friendly and nice and never rushed me despite me being the last appointment on a Friday afternoon.Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend to friends/family.The DBB deal was very good value and ideal for anyone looking to explore the city.

Room Tip: Request in advance if there's a particular room or facility you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Based on Trip Advisor reviews and the appealing website my partner booked for one night's stay.We had chosen the hotel for its location ( which is ideal- right in the centre of Norwich) and because we assumed we would be assured a little bit of luxury.
We were however disappointed with the room we had.When we got home we looked again at , Trip Advisor reviews and a booking site which describes the hotel as a 'luxury 4* boutique hotel' -. It's a description we didn't see fitting the accommodation we were given ( room number 2) It is in part of the modern annexe of the hotel that bears no resemblance to the grand comfort suggested by the photographs. Admittedly when arriving via the car park the way to reception gives the impression of a 2 or 3 star hotel , but we were very disappointed to find that was where our room was located. We were also surprised by what the hotel claim to be provided eg. "an exclusive range of luxury bathing products" ; what we were provided with were two mini bottles of neutrogena bath & shower gel. Our bed was also rather hard to sleep on as the headboard squeaked each time we moved. Going on other reviews some of the rooms must be much nicer than the one we stayed in. On the plus side our room was clean . The breakfast was nice . We also had a nice meal in the bistro in the evening and the staff make you very welcome .Our overall view is that some parts of the hotel are nice and some are very basic and come nowhere close to ' boutique' .

Room Tip: Room 2 is not that nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you feel this way about St. Giles. I would like to point out that all the reviews that you mention on TripAdvisor are from guests who have stayed in rooms throughout the hotel.

We believe that all our rooms are individually and tastefully decorated to the highest standard, regardless of whether they are in the Georgian or modern part of the building. It is certainly a pity that you did not feel that the room you were allocated was to your taste. The photographs on our website are a true representation of the rooms that we have available but we cannot always guarantee that you will be put in a specific room that you have viewed on our website. However, had you particularly requested a room in the Georgian building I am sure that, providing we had availability, your wish would have been accommodated.

With regard to our car parking facilities and back entrance – we do aim to keep this area as presentable as is possible but do find that this can be a challenge as we share the area with other businesses. I would like to point out though that there are very few city centre hotels who can boast a picturesque car park and back entrance. Particularly one that offers this facility free of charge.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is always valuable to hear differing opinions and perceptions of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight for a local wedding. We got a train from london and it took around 10 minutes from the station to the hotel in a taxi. The hotel itself is a couple of minutes walk from the town centre which is handy. We were greeted by very friendly reception staff who showed us to our beautiful room (Normandy - number 9 on the top floor). We didn't eat in the restaurant as we attended a wedding but the breakfast was wonderful. Very high quality everything from the glasses to the bathroom products, we had a lovely and very comfortable nights sleep and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Norwich.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed in the georgian suite for an anniversary stay was a surprise as my husband organised it, was pleasantly pleased, decor was quaint, lovely room good size, comfortable bed, a bonus was a huge bath, large fan, good size tv, free DVD library.
Things that let room down where only small but as a woman find it essential was no hair dryer, and for such a large double shower would of been in keeping with the lavishness to have a good quality power shower instead of a rather small basic one.
Breakfast on the other hand was amazing so much choice and of very high standard. Was so impressed with the food that after looking at Their lunch time special menu we decided to come back with family to sample it.
Food was fabulous in quality, presentation and flavour, exceptional meal had by all, down side was even though we had booked and where five minutes late, we had to wait a rather long time to go to our table which with a rather hungry 2 yr old was rather tedious, even though they had a high chair there, the restaurant doesn't cater for children as the cliental is normally couples and adults only and have no children's menu.
Despite this i ordered her a side order which were lovely hand cooked chunky chips which she enjoyed and the friendly waitress gave her a complimentary cookie which was a nice touch.
All in all a beautiful hotel with exquisite cuisine.
If you stay do try the downstairs beauty spa, lovely girls who are very professional and the head massage was amazing.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am delighted that, overall, you enjoyed your stay and dining experience at St. Giles House. Especially as it was for a special occasion! It’s also great that you made use of our beauty treatment spa to add an extra touch of luxury to your visit!
I know what a disaster it would be if I did not have a hairdryer in the morning! So apologies that you could not locate one, as we do supply hairdryers in every room. I have asked our housekeeping team to ensure that no hairdryers are missing and that they are easy to find for our guests. Your comment regarding the shower has also been noted. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
I was surprised to learn that you were not offered our children’s menu when you dined with us. We offer a child friendly menu which includes either a Main Course and a drink for £4.50, 2 Courses and drink for £7.50 and 3 Courses and drink for £10.50. I am sorry that this was not offered to you and I have spoken with the restaurant staff to ensure that this does not happen again.
Once again, thank you for your feedback which is, as always, invaluable in enabling us to continue to provide quality service and make improvements where necessary.
We look forward to seeing you again at St. Giles House in the not too distant future!!

Kind regards,

Jo Thurling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich norfolk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my wedding . I stayed the night before so i didnt have to travel! i must say i thought this hotel lived up to it local name. very helpful eventhough it was 10 days before xmas and they were busy with xmas parties. had a lovely relaxed stay. breakfast was especially good. first day we had room service and i was very impressed second we ate in the restaurant and it was very good. The receptionist even let me leave my car there for a few hours while i boojed my honeymoon .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed for one night a few weeks ago and had a wonderful time. Stunning hotel, with a very comfortable feel. The receptionists were very helpful and friendly. The room we had was modern, clean and everything we wanted was right there.
I can't quite understand how people have reviewed this place less than 4 stars? No pleasing perhaps?
If I had to be picky the breakfast girl that served was, lets say a tad unorganised. Ordered coffee, no milk came out so we had to use the cereal milk from the buffet, toast came out, no butter followed. Cooked breakfast arrived, very nice indeed but no cutlery....also she kept called me 'that bloke' which was a tad odd-maybe a little more training?
Overall though wonderful experience-thank you....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such positive feedback on your recent visit to St Giles House, and particularly for taking the time review us on TripAdvisor.

Feedback from our Customers is essential to us providing and maintaining excellent customer service, It is also a way of bringing to our attention, any issue which may affect our customers’ experience with us. The issue with breakfast you noted has been addressed with the member of staff involved to ensure that this does not happen again.

I am, however, pleased to see that our staff, facilities and services contributed to an enjoyable stay at St Giles House and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jo Thurling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Address: 41 - 45 St Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.