We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place and people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cringleford Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cringleford Guest House to your Saves list
Cringleford Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Gurney Lane | Cringleford, Norwich NR4 7SB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£10 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great place and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here because of proximity to Norwich hospital. The property was beautiful and Rob was a perfect host. Very helpful to us during a very difficult time. Would highly recommend to anybody considering a stay in Norwich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
61
51
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay,Tyne and Wear
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Truly a "Home from Home" experience!

Kate and Rob, are excellent hosts and make you welcome from the off!

As a guide to the area, Rob know's his stuff and on the two occasions we have stayed have followed some excellent recommendations for day trips and meals, never have these dissapointed.

The accomodation is just as you would wish, but really the star of the show is the hearty breakfast that awaits each morning!

The Cringleford caters for younger folk too, but as our Daughter is currently a Student this was not high on our list of needs.

With good bus links and a short walk to the University this is an excellent location for visitors to the beautiful City of Norwich.

We will return, again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dossenheim, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very kind reception with coffee and very friendly owners. The location is easy to reach. The rooms are excellent, very calm, clean and spacy in a relaxing urban environment, close to the university and research park with a good bus connection to the city centre. A good selection of breakfast cereals as well as delicious eggs, bacon, sausage etc. prepared freshly. For me definitively a place to staying at my next visit to Norwich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was late booking accommodation in Norwich for the Saturday of May bank holiday. Using Trip advisor I found the Cringleford Guest House.
I arrived early (midday) but received a warm welcome, a cup of tea and the room already prepared.
I had a single room of excellent proportions, fresh and clean with a comfortable large bed.
The en-suite shower room was also a very good size for a single room.
The standard of the house and surroundings is superb and it sits in a lovely quiet location.
The hosts Rob and Kate were extremely helpful and recommended somewhere local for my evening meal, which included a discount for staying at The Cringleford.
The breakfast was freshly prepared and cooked to perfection.
I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone based on quality alone but equally on value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, West Midlands, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in April 2013.

Cringleford Guest House is a friendly, welcoming place. As soon as I staggered out of my car, I was offered a cup of tea. My room was spacious (twin for single use), clean and comfortable. I opted for the full English breakfast, with excellent home-made bread, good sausages and bacon and plenty of tea to wash it down. Lunch could be very light, after that!

The area around the guest house is pleasant and safe - probably rather posh, judging by the large houses round about. It's easily found if travelling by car, just off the A11, within about half a mile of its junction with the A47. Note that it's essential to approach following the directions given by the owners, directly from the A11. Some online maps (e.g. Streetmap UK) can mislead by showing the possibility of approaching via Round House Way. The latter route is no longer open to vehicles.

I would be wary of advising the guest house to people travelling by train, as it is on the edge of the city. The one downside if, like me, you wish to travel into the city by bus, is that the Sunday service is sparse, with the nearest route starting from the hospital, about twenty minutes' walk away until about 5 p.m. after which buses do serve the nearest stop. Nevertheless, this wasn't a problem once I'd sussed out the timetable.

Overall, I would strongly recommend this guesthouse/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked myself in at very short notice following the unexpected death of my mother. When I arrived and Rob discovered the reason for my visit he couldn't have been kinder. My room was lovely too - clean, quiet and comfortable. It was altogether a very soothing and relaxing night, just what I needed. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Room 7 is really quiet and peaceful (nobody above and nobody on either side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Myself, brother and cousin stayed here for one night while visiting Norwich Rob and kate were excellent hosts made us feel very welcome, accommodation and breakfast was excellent, would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone. Should be 5 star

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cringleford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cringleford Guest House

Address: 1 Gurney Lane | Cringleford, Norwich NR4 7SB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cringleford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cringleford Guest House - 4 star bed and breakfast (non smoking) accommodation in one of the city's best residential areas, just 3/4 mile away from the A11 / A47 interchange. Convenient for the Norfolk & Norwich Hospital, UEA, Norwich Research Park, John Innes Centre, Dunston Hall, Caistor Hall, Newmarket Road, and a short drive or bus journey into Norwich City. Be assured of a friendly welcome, great breakfast and good, clean, well appointed, quality accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cringleford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cringleford Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.