We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cringleford Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cringleford Guest House to your Saves list
Cringleford Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Gurney Lane | Cringleford, Norwich NR4 7SB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here for two nights whilst attending a training course at the nearby Norwich Radiology Academy. I arrived late on the first night but was made very welcome by Kate, shown to my room (they have 7) and asked what time I would like breakfast. There was plenty of off street parking.
The room was large, clean and well appointed with an extremely comfortable king sized bed, reading lamps, tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of drawer space, although no wardrobe. The en suite shower room was clean and spacious too. They also provide free wifi
Breakfast was comprehensive, I chose not to have a cooked breakfast although my colleague's looked delicious. There was cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurt, juice all laid out to help yourself.
Both Rob and Kate were friendly and helpful about suggestions of where to eat and where to go in the evenings. Having a card machine was an added bonus and meant I didn't have to go and find a cash machine.
i would recommend this little guest house for your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
61
50
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed there for six weeks for work purposes and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Cringleford Guest House. Warm and friendly welcome without being too pushy. Good local knowledge from the hosts, who were approachable and amenable. Comfortable rooms cleaned to a high standard. Would definitely recommend the guest house to others visiting the area for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here with two elderly relatives and cannot speak too highly of the welcome and service provided by Rob and Kate. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean, and Norwich itself is a super place to visit. All in all 10 out of 10! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I booked cringleford guest house at very short notice and from the off I was met with friendly, helpful service. I was visiting Norwich as I had a university interview the next day. Lovely room, very clean. A wonderful reception when I arrived and in the morning breakfast was amazing. There was fresh coffee, toast and a lovely cooked breakfast with really nice sausages. As well as the breakfast the owners were really lovely people. I had a really nice experience and truly believe it added to my positive attitude at interview.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Cringleford Guesthouse is an excellent place, which can easily be found on the Internet. The hosts, who are very friendly, open and hospitable, are always available and do their best to make your stay happy and comfortable. The Guesthouse itself is a very cosy and clean place, with a few rooms and one dining room, which makes you feel like at home. There is a nice picturesque park with a lake nearby. It is about 20-minue walk from the city centre, being a little far away from main roads. I would recommend the place especially to families with children who want to change the scene and enjoy clean air and nature around. I was served breakfast, which was very diverse and fresh. I stayed overnight only so I cannot add anything else, really, but my memories are good, especially when it come to a family atmosphere there. I arrived on a rainy day last October and did not have any umbrella with me. The hosts lent me one and called a taxi for me. But for their help and welcoming spirit, the beginning of my stay here in Norwich (I am a PhD student here now) would have been much worse. I really recommend it. Wanda

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Norfolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way to Norwich to visit our daughter in hospital as she had given birth seven weeks prematurely. A journey that normally takes an hour had turned into a nightmare 5 hour trip in dreadful weather and road conditions. We rang through to Cringleford Guest House and secured their last room. Kate kindly stayed on the phone to give us directions, welcomed us with a tray of tea and biscuits and even supplied us with toothbrushes and toothpaste! We walked to the hospital and were able to see the new baby and his proud Mum and Dad. On our return, Rob charged up my mobile phone and we had a very comfortable stay in a very clean and warm room, with a delicious breakfast in the morning. We were able to leave the car after checking out so that we could visit the hospital again. Would recommend CGH most highly, such kind and friendly people.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent place to stay, highly recommended. Rob and Kate are so welcoming! A very homely feel. Cooked breakfast is a must, but healthy option also available. Ideal for people visiting UEA, and nice and close to the excellent Red Lion. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cringleford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cringleford Guest House

Address: 1 Gurney Lane | Cringleford, Norwich NR4 7SB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cringleford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cringleford Guest House - 4 star bed and breakfast (non smoking) accommodation in one of the city's best residential areas, just 3/4 mile away from the A11 / A47 interchange. Convenient for the Norfolk & Norwich Hospital, UEA, Norwich Research Park, John Innes Centre, Dunston Hall, Caistor Hall, Newmarket Road, and a short drive or bus journey into Norwich City. Be assured of a friendly welcome, great breakfast and good, clean, well appointed, quality accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cringleford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cringleford Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.