We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Rosebery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lord Rosebery to your Saves list
The Lord Rosebery
94 Rosebery Road, Norwich NR3 3AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

When we pulled up to the pub, I have to confess to being a little uncertain what we would find inside. The street is a narrow residential road with cars parked on both sides, but there is a small car park to the rear of the building. Check in was in the pub, and we were then shown to our room, through a separate entrance, by Sarah, who was very friendly and welcoming, and who explained that a continental breakfast was in the fridge for us, but if we would like a full English, as long as we rang in the morning, we could go to their sister pub/hotel and present the voucher she gave us. The continental breakfast in the room was amazing... croisants, cereal (and plenty of fresh milk) fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice, and of course a good selection of tea, coffee and chocolate. The room was a good size, and both bedroom and en-suite were beautifully decorated, furnished and equipped.....and very clean! The room we stayed in was above the pub and at the front of the building, but we could hear no noise from either the street or bar... it was a Monday, so it may be different at the weekend. We did decide to try the English breakfast at The Blue Boar, just a short drive away, and once again, were treated to a warm welcome and very friendly service. The breakfast was excellent too! Compared to hotels charging similar rates, I can highly recommend this as an excellent alternative, and much better value for money! When we are next in Norwich, The Lord Rosebery will definately be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyNch, Manager at The Lord Rosebery, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Lord Rosebery; your views are invaluable to us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Management at The Lord Rosebery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
49
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel whilst on business in Norwich. There are no eating facilities as it is basically a pub with rooms. Eating is at the sister hotel nearby. The room quality was excellent and took me by surprise. It was very modern and clean. Breakfast was at the sister hotel, however there was a continental breakfast in the room. There was so much there that I did not need to go to the other hotel, which made the stay even better. Certainly a place that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyNch, Manager at The Lord Rosebery, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for asking the time to review The Lord Rosebery; your comments are invaluable to us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Management at The Lord Rosebery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night in the suite from checking in until we left couldn't really fault it ( maybe bath sheets instated of towels) beautifully decorated rooms which are well equipped. Bar staff really helpful and friendly. Really enjoyed it so much booked again for our anniversary in March.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyNch, Manager at The Lord Rosebery, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Lord Rosebery, Norwich.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and have chosen to stay with us again and look forward to seeing you then.

Kind regards,
Management at The Lord Rosebery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Spent 2 nights here, friendly welcome, very well appointed room, great shower. Some noise from the pub below,if you have a room on the front. Breakfast hamper a great idea. There is parking but turning in and out of car park very tight because of parked cars on the road.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyNch, Manager at The Lord Rosebery, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Lord Rosebery; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Managemement at The Lord Rosebery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night a couple of weeks ago and thought we best bring a little balance to the reviews on here. The room was spacious and well presented but the heating was not on despite the radiators being turned up to 5 and the music from the pub was quite loud until closing time at midnight.
I guess it was ok for the price charged and the breakfast baskets in the rooms were a great idea - being able to enjoy your breakfast while getting ready etc was a nice change to the usual B&B set up.

Bed was a bit cold with no additional blankets which we could have done with seeing as the heating didn't kick in. Sheets were a bit rough too - had a feeling they weren't 100% cotton but could be wrong, either way they were a bit scratchy and the bed could have done with a mattress fleece thing as the mattress label kept making lots of noise when I turned over and woke me up.
Welcoming staff in the pub were very friendly but it sadly didn't quite live up to the other reviews on here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyNch, Manager at The Lord Rosebery, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear your stay wasn't as comfortable as it could have been. The heating certainly should have been on and we will check that the boiler is programmed appropriately for this time of year!

Your idea of a fleece lining for the matresses is a nice one and we will take it up - thank you. We have also placed additional blankets in the rooms.

We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast in bed and that the staff were welcoming.

Kind regards,
The Management at The Lord Rosebery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a great one-night stay at 'The Lord Rosebery' in Norwich. Have stayed in quite a few Hotels and Bed and Breakfasts in the area but no where near as nice as here. There is no issue at all with parking as there are pre-allocated spots on-site for guests. The lady who checked us in was ever so pleasant and even offered help with bags. The room though was the real surprise, it was so nicely decorated and fitted-out, it had the most comfortable bed ever and a stunning shower room. You have everything you need in the room, plenty of hot drink options but also in the fridge was your continental breakfast options - milk, bottles of water, fresh croissants, yogurts, biscuits, cereals, jams but if you fancied a cooked breakfast you can visit a sister pub nearby at no extra charge which is great.

We had a great time in Norwich visiting family and ended our evening back at The Lord Rosebury enjoying a few drinks in the public bar and all the staff were very accommodating.

Would not hesitate staying here again but would imagine you will soon have to book in advance as I believe this will soon become Norwich's hidden gem so don't tell too many people!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita T, Manager at The Lord Rosebery, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Mr McAuliffe,

Thank you very much for your review; I will pass your comments on to the staff.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management at The Lord Rosebery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here on business. Tucked away in a quiet street on the edge of Norwich it started life as a neighbourhood pub (and still is). Dont be put off by the exterior. Inside was a complete surprise. Fully refurbished in 2012 the upstairs rooms are boutique hotel standard. Modern decor and fittings with a designer bathroom (great walk in shower). Warm helpful welcome. Breakfast is continental style in a fridge in the bedroom- orange juice, fresh mik, croissants, cereals etc. We appreciated the independence this gave us as we were on a late start the next day. Food was not available the evening we stayed there but the hotel is only a 15 minute walk from the centre of town where there is a wide choice of restaurants. The pub bar downstairs has character and is comfortable and cosy, with a friendly atmosphere.I love this place and if I have to overnight in Norwich again I will be staying here! Good for business travellers and weekend visitors alike

Room Tip: all the rooms are high standard and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lord Rosebery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Rosebery

Address: 94 Rosebery Road, Norwich NR3 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lord Rosebery is a fine Victorian pub with 3 glorious double bedrooms and 1 suite with a small kitchen.We are just 20 minutes stroll from the centre of the fine city of Norwich and all it's delights.We have a traditional bar serving cask ale,good wines and a good range of largers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lord Rosebery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Rosebery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.