We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Star

The Golden Star
57 Colegate | NR3 1DD, Norwich, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 691 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were looking for a bite to eat before the cinema, and on the reviews we decided on the Golden Star, a traditional pub we have known of for years but would not have thought of it for food. We were really impressed with the character, home cooking style, delicious meals served. Good beer too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A great pub in Norwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Its a bit off the tourist track. Its not a looker. But that's the outside. Inside you've got Lily who is most welcoming, helpful and you get the good looks there instead. That's for starters. Then there's the range of guest ales with samples willingly offered and a range of home-cooked dishes far beyond what you would expect in a small local. They have got a serious chef here. Did I mention the friendly locals? Or the very reasonable prices. I found this place by chance and I hope I will chance on it again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich.norfolk. england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Came here a few months ago for a drink and saw the food looked very good,so came back last week.
Well what can I say but super,limited menu but the choice was so different from other pubs.
We had pork with buttered cabbage and mash potoaoes,with a Chinese jus,the pork was so tender it was like having the pulled pork that is so poplar at the mo.
I Lemon tart with raspberry ice cream.....lush !!,
Will certainly return again
Great atmosphere !!
£20 for 2 people: 2 main 1 sweet

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Stratton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quizzical Pub with food (even breakfast!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This could be described as our local as we can be found at the Sunday evening quiz most weeks, even though it's almost 10 miles from home. Careful how you park - the wardens are quite prepared to slap a ticket on even at 9.30pm on a Sunday night!

Good selection of beers - Greene King (IPA, Abbot, etc. as well as unusual guest beers that change almost every week. During the day it is very quiet - it will be interesting to see how the breakfast from 7.30am will affect business.

The food is imaginative and although the menu is small, it is all home-cooked.

Well worth a visit as it is only 10-minutes from the centre of Norwich and much less frenetic.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“I'd go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice and busy pub. I did not have a meal here; just a pint or two and they were enjoyable! I'd have no reason to not return!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Star also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.