We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Appleyard and Co

Appleyard and Co
36 Exchange Street, Norwich NR2 1AX, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 691 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Lunch - 2 tapas / mezze boards to share. We could have got a similar meal at a supermarket salad bar with a slice of packet cooked beek, cured ham, and an ounce of cheese added. Service was slow and totally without personality. One of the serving staff kept wiping his hands on his jeans backside and bit his nails, would have liked to have seen a bit of hand washing in between these activities. A bit of heat would have been nice, and the factory decor look has lost it's lustre.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stylish and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I've been to this place a few times now and each time I have been blown away by the delucious offerings in this stylish and modern restaurant but mystified by its lack of customers. Appleyard and co deserves to be very busy - just go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Weekl lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting weekly for the last few months and have been very impressed.They serve great food in a friendly and unpretentious atmosphere. Great selection of home made soups and cakes and not to mention their take on some european classics.Well done.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I went here with a group of 8 friends on a Thursday and got a selection of Tapas and a carafe of wine for £15. This was very good value for money. They brought a wide range of really tasty Tapas dishes, a nice mix which all worked well together. The service was incredibly friendly and helpful and no request seemed to much, they catered very well for the awkward ones too! (Nut Allergy and Vegetarians). The restaurant had a good interior and atmosphere. Would strongly recommend to large group so you get a good number of Tapas dishes.Thanks for a lovely meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Relaxed friendly dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were visiting Norwich and found this restaurant by chance on a Saturday evening.
We had a selection of dishes to share, tapas-style. All were good and some excellent. The choices were original and all very tempting.
The atmosphere was relaxed and informal and the service friendly and efficient. If you fancy playing scrabble over a drink you can (some were)
We had a lovely evening and delicious food. The surprising thing was how quiet it was on a saturday night when other restaurants were fully booked! What are the people of Norwich doing?? Why aren't you all in this friendly restaurant?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appleyard and Co also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Appleyard and Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appleyard and Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.