We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night on New Years Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaklands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Oaklands Hotel to your Saves list
The Oaklands Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Canary
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Night on New Years Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Went to the Oaklands for New Years Eve Ball - excellent night. Well organised and excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    96
    65
    55
    42
See reviews for
48
134
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

This is not a chain hotel so expect a few quirky things however the staff are great - the rooms are fine and the food is superb - stayed three nites over Xmas and cannot fault the place. Good value if booked online

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed as part of a wedding package - staff friendly, bedroom OK but nothing special, nice ensuite bathroom. Wedding reception venue very good, food OK and staff very helpful regarding room setup etc. Breakfasts OK, but nothing too great. Overall was fairly satisfied with stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We were directed to a room on the 2nd floor, which was located in the roof. No lift so had to lug a heavy case up two flights of stairs. The room was small but adequate. However the vinyl flooring was cold and the floor creaked at the slightest step.
The bathroom was fine, except the shower was the most feeble Ive used in a long time, also when I got out it switched itself on and off again.
The windows were old fashioned single glazed so the room was draughty and in the morning the condensation was awful, water pouring off the sill.
The bed was the worlds most uncomfortable ever! It was soft, saggy and had dips in it. The pillows were as thin as wafers, so a good nights sleep wasnt in order.
They also had a party in the hotel so the music was blaring til mid night, then we had the noise of a lot of drunken guests taking forever to leave. Those that stayed in the hotel were noisy going to their rooms, banging doors etc.
We were awoken by the cleaners banging and clashing in the corridor, despite having a do not disturb notice on the door, I feel they wanted us out so they could get the rooms on our floor cleared.
We didnt get to the breakfast so cant rate the food.
All in all I wouldnt recommend the hotel as you can get comfort and class at the holiday inn for less money. We got this as a last minute deal for £52 which is ok, but no way is this place worth the advertised price of £107!
It could be a lovely place if they spent a little more money on the rooms, maybe carpet them to make them warmer, do something with the windows and replace the beds!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Went to the Oaklands for the Christmas carvery, having pre booked and ordered our meal. First course was soup, but no bread roll...the bread rolls came when the dishes were cleared away.
The carvery - Grumpy chap served very thin slices from very small joints of meat which had already gone cold. Large but cold yorkshire pudding to compliment. The veggies consisted of broccoli stalks (no florets), tatty sliced carrots, french beans, sweetcorn and peas (all luke warm) and the roast potatoes were swimming in grease in an almost empty tin which again,was luke warm. The gravy didn't offer much in taste or heat either...and was very runny!
Dessert - A slice of smooth christmas pudding no bigger than box of matches and a tablespoon of cream.
Coffee and mince pie - DELICIOUS...seriously, they were the best part of the meal!!!
Capped off with non-attentive grumpy staff from start to finish!
Complete waste of money, will not go there ever again!
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

When friends of ours invited to a carvery lunch mid week for £3.50 we were not looking forward to it too much. How wrong can you be, just two slices of beef, pork or turkey were offered, yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes, sweetcorn , carrots. green beans, and broccolli and masses of gravy horseradish, cranberry sauce . Two of the four of us had a fruit crumble and custard and coffee for four afterwards for less than £25. Great value , good customer service, won't be the last time we go.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at The Oaklands in late October. We had a day booked at the Bannatyne Spa which is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. We arrived late on Saturday night and although there was a busy wedding in the function room we were checked in immediately and with a smile! There was a notice to say there would be music playing until midnight - we were in a first floor room above reception area and we could not hear the music! The staff were very efficiet and helpful, the bought a menu up to our room upon request and we then ordered room service - it came within 20 minutes piping hot and very tasty. Included in the en suite was a jacuzzi bubble bath - this was very enjoyable after a long drive! the only downfall was that it was quite loud and we could make out when others had their jacuzzi bubbles turned on! The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding was so soft! breakfast in the morning was the best fry up Ive ever had! overall excellet experience and would definately reccommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaklands Hotel

Address: 89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a contemporary country house style with a great location. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of rooms, chilled out lounge and bar areas, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop for a relaxing break, weddings or conferences. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests – and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm – join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner – or just take time out to chill out on our garden terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaklands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.