We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare opportunity to taste some of the best coffee in the UK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strangers Coffee House

Strangers Coffee House
21 Pottergate, Norwich NR2 1DS, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 691 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A rare opportunity to taste some of the best coffee in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Doesn't get better than this. Passion and technique combine to produce caffeine alchemy in a cup. Be prepared to take a journey into coffee wonderland. Leave you coffee prejudice at the door!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    23
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A pleasant pit stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Pleasant cafe, relaxed atmosphere, good decor. We stopped there for a quick lunch during a wander down the lanes - I ordered some food off-menu and it didn't present any problems at all.

Good sandwiches and tea, and seriously good cake on the counter - we managed to resist dessert this time, but next time the Victoria sponge will definitely be on our plates.

The staff are clearly willing to please and the service is fine. A nice stream of locals coming in for their lunches and coffee too, which is always encouraging.

Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Fantastic coffee, great environment, lovely people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I love this place! Every time I come to Norwich I make a beeline for Strangers. It's friendly, with really amazing coffee and great food. It really can't get much better than that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Having lived in new Zealand for the last 4 years I have become very accustom to having a great coffee, spoilt for choice really, on my return to England my fear was that there would be no where to get a great coffee(most cafes do ok/good coffee) and my fears have been confirmed for the last 12 months, until NOW. Well done guys never lose that standard all about consistency now.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply, the Best Coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Strangers coffee house is worth making the trip to Norwich all by itself! We have enjoyed seeing the shop go through a brilliant layout transformation within the last year, it has that perfect balance of being more open and well lit while still maintaining that cozy coffeehouse environment. Service is very quick, caring, and detail oriented. And the coffee is out of this world!!!! You won’t want to ever drink an instant coffee again!!! The sandwiches and cakes are very delicious too!!

Alex, is a top ranked Barista in the UK, and it shows! On our last visit we were fortunate enough to be able to have a nice conversation with him about the different types of coffees and coffee makers Strangers offers. He was even able to suggest some coffee beans that we might enjoy at home. We will definitely continue to visit and highly recommend Strangers to anyone!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strangers Coffee House also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Strangers Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strangers Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.