We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
Dereham Road, Norwich, England
01603749469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #447 of 662 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Owned and operated by marstons inns and taverns
norwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hit and Miss!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'm an extremely fussy eater, i go to places that serve pub grub and non pretentious food.
i went here regularly when it first opened, but find now that it is extremely hit and miss.

Sometimes the food can be tasty, well cooked, and comes in a timely manner, other times the food is poorly cooked, especially the chips which come out looking a tad anaemic. I find that sometimes the staff can be a bit unprofessional, and not very happy about being there.

There are many other restaurants that are reasonably priced, that serve good food, you'd be better off spending money there

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    10
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

After reading all the negative reviews on here i totally agree with all the comments.
First off all I use to be a regular customer at the cherry tree going twice a week sometimes.but the place has gone done hill in the last year. and i believe its to do with the lack of atmosphere and the staff.and the rubbish slow service(sometimes waiting a hour for food even on quite days)
Yes its 2 4 1 on meals but they are tasteless and small portions and do not fill you up!
If you drive past there between 5-7 everyday you will see hardly any cars in the car park which just tells you something compared to a year ago when the carpark was full!
Im sure this place could improve in the near future is they had a new manager(as the one now is rude and grumpy) and new staff,hot food and better quicker service! Marstons you should feel ashamed!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looked ok from the outside!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stopped here on our way home for a quick bite for lunch, it looked a nice place from the outside and when we got in it was quite empty and was lacking atmosphere. The lady behind bar could have been friendlier - we ordered some drinks and fond our own table. Two for one menu was quite good value so we ordered. When our food arrived it looked ok - chicken was a bit dry and my small portion of coleslaw didnt taste right at all. We finished and as we went out the so called chef came out of the kitchen wearing a dirty pair of jeans and t-shirt and that was it - i will never return!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Unimaginative menu, questionable service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

It's nice to walk into a virtually empty pub for Sunday lunch with the family and be totally ignored by staff too busy chatting to welcome you and show you your reserved table.
This is an order at the bar with a standard pub menu, together with a large chalk board of specials. They offer a 2 for 1 deal which is just as well because the standard prices are a bit high.
It took at least half an hour for the orders to arrive. My breaded place was about 80% bread coating. Another of our party had a pie so small that it looked like a children's helping. I didn't think the so call giant portions were any bigger than a standard portion elsewhere. The cups were dry and tasteless. Peas were standard pub low quality with no hint of sweetness.
A staff member enquired whether the meal was alright but had no sympathy with the poor portions of pie and plaice. "Oh the pie is rather small isn't it" was her only reaction. Why bother asking then?
I didn't bother with pudding as the menu was just the usual popular unimaginative offerings totally lacking in imagination. In fact I thought the whole menu was uninviting to me as virtually every dish had an unecessary sauce or a seasoning to put me off.
Added to this, the banquette we were sitting on was dirty and stained - quite unpleasant to look back on as we left.
An lacklustre meal in a lacklustre pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid the pies!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have been to the Two for One chains before, portions have always been spot on, but this was stupid!!! Some salad in a bowl was hiding the rest of the plate.
When the waitress asked how things were, she commented on how the pies rant massive. She just walked away when I said they were a massive disappointment!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cherry Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cherry Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.