We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“umbertos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umberto's trattoria

Umberto's trattoria
68-70 St Benedict's Street, Norwich, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 665 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
norwich,norfolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“umbertos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Visited Umbertos italian restaurant on St. Benedicts street last night, was busy even on a wednesday evening, but we managed to get in. We enjoyed the friendly, traditional ambiance and were visited by Umberto himself to check that we were happy with the food! Our waitress waslovely and couldnt do enough for us, also very happy! The quality of our food was very good and I would highly recommend the tiramisu! Will definetely visit again for the quaint, tradional unhurried atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    6
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value, very friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The menu is extensive and really good value. Nice, relaxed atmosphere. Very friendly staff. Dessert wine with almond biscuits was a particularly good dessert choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No redeeming qualities!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

From the greeting of the staff to the decor, atmosphere and food, the whole experience was awful. The staff were overly formal and unfriendly, the main courses would have been barely acceptable if they had been priced at a third of what they were but priced around £15 before side dishes are included, you should be able to expect decent food. The decor was dated and alarm bells should have been ringing when we walked into a half empty restaurant on a Saturday. No redeeming qualities.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Delicious, authentic food that keeps us coming back time and time again. The vulcano pizza is just delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I ate here having walked past it hundred of times and saying 'we should try that little place. I'm very glad we did.

The food and service was good. The wine was also lovely - we opted for bottle of Chianti classico.

After our meal, the chef (I believe Umberto) came out and spoke to all the guests to say hello and get their feedback on the meals.

It was a lovely restaurant and del really personal. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umberto's trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Umberto's trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umberto's trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.