We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up above the streets and houses.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich

City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich
Theatre Street, Norwich, England
+44 (0)1263 587005
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Up above the streets and houses.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A lovely bus driver welcomed us and when we explained we were from Norwich he told us how we could get the most from our ticket (valid 24 hours). We sat on top deck, it was difficult to hear the recorded guide messages which was disappointing but as a Norwich citizen was nice to see up above the streets and houses anyway. Speakers need to be spread around a bit more and louder too. But a thoroughly enjoyable hour.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had a free child ticket and my son (aged 4) loves buses so I thought this might be fun for him. I've never been on an open top bus before, so I was surprised as I assumed you had an actual guide onboard so that was a little disappointing. It's just played through the speakers which were difficult to hear. The driver was a little surly and seemed as if he'd rather be anywhere else that day. The bus itself was a bit grubby and the seats weren't very comfortable. We quite enjoyed the tour itself as despite living in Norfolk you don't normally get to appreciate some lovely views just driving around Norwich. If we'd have paid full price I'd have been a little miffed, especially if I'd been from a different area as the traffic noise and passengers talking covers up the tour recording. One plus they should advertise more is that you can use the bus as much as you want in 24 hours. I would think this quite fun if bouncing around the city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareinNorfolk, Public Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for letting us know your thoughts on your trip with us around Norwich with your 4 year old and we’re sorry to hear it did not fully meet your expectations. We receive very few comments about passengers being unable to hear the commentary and most of our passengers tell us they prefer the speaker system to earphones. However, it is possible for the volume to be adjusted – so we’d request that passengers do let us know if they have a problem - and we do ask for passenger consideration of others so that all can hear comfortably. We are most disappointed to hear you were not happy with our driver and the comfort and cleanliness of the bus as these are areas in which we take the greatest pride and we will be investigating what may have gone wrong on this occasion. We hope you will use our services again and see a real improvement next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Happy Group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour around Norwich and learnt a great deal about its history. The girls remembered many facts about their experience. Thank you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareinNorfolk, Public Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your tour around our Fine City of Norwich with City Sightseeing buses. We are all very proud of our City and its history and always delighted to share that with visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could be good if...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We often like to take a city sightseeing bus tour when visiting somewhere new as we find it a good way to find out about the history of a place as well as 'get our bearings' and find out where are the attractions and restaurants etc that we may like to visit during our stay. We were disappointed and frustrated with the City Sightseeing Norwich tour because rather than the commentary being available through earphones it is through a sound system which we could only hear on the top-deck if we sat near the front of the bus: luckily there were seats available near the front but even then we missed parts of the commentary because of people talking and the noise of traffic. We decided to stay on the bus and complete the circuit twice in the hope of hearing what we had paid to listen to - as the tour is only approximately 40 minutes long and we had time available to do so we thought it was worth trying. Unfortunately on both occasions there were inconsiderate people talking, as well as young children making a noise. What we did hear was interesting and seemed to be well done and I very much like the unlimited hop-on hop-off aspect of these tours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareinNorfolk, Guest Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience on our Norwich City Sightseeing Tour bus and we’re sorry that you felt you were not able to hear our commentary adequately. It has been our own experience that most of our passengers do in fact prefer a speaker system to earphones and we very rarely receive comments that some passengers cannot hear. We are able to adjust the volume so always let us know if you are struggling to hear the commentary. Unfortunately, of course there are sometimes going to be people and/or children on our tours who prefer to continue their own conversation rather than listen to the commentary, but we will ensure that we request our passengers’ consideration of others during the tour so that it can be heard by all and that passengers are also reminded that they can request that the volume is adjusted if necessary. We hope you will visit Norwich again and take another tour with us as our commentary is regularly updated to ensure it is fresh and accurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORWICH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Getting to know you . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Having lived in Norwich for the past 17 years or so, we feel almost "local." There was not much we didn't know about the city. How wrong can one be? With expected guests arriving for a few days, one who had not been to this "Fine City" before, we came up with the idea of a quick tour on the hop-on hop-off city signtseeing open-top bus. We had used them in the past in places such as Palma, Mallorca and Valletta, Malta and found them to be most enjoyable and informative.
You can pick it up at any of the designated stops then hop-on and hop-off at your leisure. The whole trip lasted about an hour but the overriding factor was the clear, most informative and interesting, pre-recorded commentary. Adults £9 and children £5. For visitors with little time this ride will not disappoint and, most certainly an excellent way to "do Norwich."

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareinNorfolk, Guest Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Good to hear from you - thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and we are delighted that you found your trip with us such a worthwhile experience and felt that our commentary was so informative. We hope you will take the opportunity to take your visitors on the tour too to show off our wonderful City of Norwich. There's always so much to see and do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Sightseeing Hop-on, Hop-off Tour of Norwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.