We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedgewood house, norwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wedgewood House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wedgewood House to your Saves list
Wedgewood House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   42 St Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3RE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 79 Norwich B&B and Inns
NORFOLK gaywood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wedgewood house, norwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

clean rooms,great location only a 5 min walk to the centre, hosts made us feel very welcome and went that extra mile to look after us, breakfast was very good, if your thinking of going to Norwich then stay at the Wedgewood House, you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    31
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
76
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have just returned from a great weekend hereThe location is fantastic,the rooms are large and spotlessly clean.Breakfast was hot,fresh and delicious and plentiful.
The hosts were really friendly and would do anything for you.
My one and only critique would be the TV in the room,as it could do with updating and probably moving off the floor.
All and al great and will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We just wanted to let you know that we have now upgraded the TV in the room that you stayed in and there is now 32" flat screen TV fitted on the wall. We hope you'll come back one day to try it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Prices of the B&B are reasonable for what you get. We found the location great. It's close to the bus station and right on the door step of town. So if you don't want to walk from the train station its easily accessed via the bus that runs from the station. The room was clean, minimal with plenty of tea and coffee. The shower room was beautifully decorated. The toilet in our room let it down as it didn't flush very well and made a lot of noise. Breakfast was nice not greasy at all. Could maybe do with some background music as it felt like sitting in a library. We are both happy with our stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodGuestHouse, Owner at Wedgewood House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we’re really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come to stay again if you are back in Norwich in the future.

Thank you also for drawing our attention to the problem with the noisy toilet. When we investigated it, we found that the toilet had a partial blockage in it. Not enough to prevent the waste from going away, but it was the cause of the excessive noise that it made on flushing. This has obviously since been addressed.

The question of music in the breakfast room is something that we have talked about on a number of occasions. It’s a tricky one as people are all so different and what one person might enjoy might really bother another. We’ve also considered a news channel on the radio or TV. However, we also know that many people like a fairly gentle start to the day and for this reason we always come back to the decision not to play it. We realise that this won’t suit everyone but is perhaps the option that is least likely to offend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Nigel and Elspeth made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. The room was a good size and clean, the food was nice and location wise, was only a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights in November 2013 and were really impressed. It started when we arrived with a warm welcome and from there on nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was high quality, with lots of choice and with the excellent touch of having home made produce such as yoghurt and jams/marmalades. We had a large room at the front which was lovely and cosy with a large en-suite and large comfy bed. Secondary glazing ensured we were warm and that noise from the road was minimal. It is only a short walk to Norwich city centre and they offer parking, which is a real bonus. (The Premier Inn was twice as expensive with no parking!) Thank you Elspeth and Neil, your hard work certainly pays off!

Room Tip: The front two rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place really is a gem. The owners, Elspeth and Nigel, are friendly and the B&B has a nice relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are airy, very clean and comfortable, with effective double glazing to cut out any traffic noise as this is very close to the city centre. The breakfast is superb and there is plenty of it, offering a wide range of options for both meat eaters and vegetarians. The home made bread, yoghurt, jams and marmalade are absolutely delicious. I will definitely be returning; this was a positive experience and excellent value for money and I would recommend Wedgewood House very highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wedgewood House is run by the friendly and helpful Neil and Elspeth, and is conveniently located near Norwich's main attractions and near a stop for the bus to the University of East Anglia. My room was clean and reasonably sized, with a nice firm bed and an extra-large and -wide duvet (unlike so many which always seem to leave you uncovered!). I loved the extra-long tub, ideal for a long hot soak. The guest house was very quiet inside and out, and while for scheduling reasons I didn't eat the included breakfast, the options looked good, including the vegetarian ones. I would certainly stay here again if back in Norwich.

Room Tip: Room 11 (in the back of the house) was very quiet, with a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wedgewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood House

Address: 42 St Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wedgewood House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere at this superbly located, city centre Edwardian house. Short walk to restaurants, theatres, cinemas, shops and historic city centre. On bus route to university and hospital. Enjoy homely non-smoking comfort and cleanliness in thoughtfully equipped and attractive bedrooms. Freshly prepared English breakfast using top quality, locally produced ingredients. Vegetarian alternative available. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wedgewood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedgewood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.