We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cedar Lodge Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Cedar Lodge Guest House
Save
You added Blue Cedar Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   391 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Norwich
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Out of the way guest house on the edge of the Golden Triangle and very convenient for the University. Our bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and bed linen was of good quality. Breakfast was good. Hosts were charming. Amazing value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
neyland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

was a very friendly family run b and b, we astayed in a family room which was very clean, and had a tv for my little to watch when getting ready in the morning. the room was cleaned everyday when we were out. breakfast was lovely every morning, and they even provided a small english for my 2 year old. would definately recommend for people tp stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Firstly, it will be obvious to all that have stayed in this guest house is that the 'Total Bliss' review has quite blatantly been written by the owners in an attempt to cover up what has to be the worst B&B I’ve ever stayed in.

After opening the door to the room I was greeted by a terrible smell of what seemed like vomit and a dubious stain on the floor. A few of us were staying here so I asked some others to walk into the room as well and they also said the same and noticed that was probably why the windows were wide open.

I asked the staff about this, however they simply dismissed there was any issue at all. Rather than come clean and admit there was a problem and offer an attempt to address it they, very rudely, said that their resolution of the issue was for me to remove my belonging from the room and check out! which I would have happily done but could not find another vacancy as it was late in the day.

BOOK ELSEWHERE!

Room Tip: just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

As a couple, we've stayed at Blue Cedar Lodge whenever we've visited our son at the University of East Angla during the past 3 years. The welcome and service have been 1st class; nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable and, with a hearty breakfast, good value for money. The location is excellent, between the Uni. campus and Norwich city, and is also convenient for nearby places of interest. We would thoroughly recommend it!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

I stayed here in February 2010. It is on one of the main roads to the City centre which is very handy but is set down a drive so you do not hear the traffic. There is a lovely garden which looks like it is very well looked after. The room we stayed in was en-suite and had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets were NOT torn or dirty, in fact, they felt very crisp and brand new?! I do not agree with the comment on here about the sheets? The owners were more than helpful with any queries we had and were very friendly. Breakfast was lovely and set us up well for the day. I could have sat in the breakfast lounge all day watching the wildlife in the garden! I have recommended this B&B to a friend who I beleive stayed in April and also enjoyed their stay. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable, will visit again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Stayed there for 3 nights. The sheets were ripped and dirty. When we mentioned it to the owners, they didn't say a thing and never changed the sheets!!!
There are FAR more nicer and cleaner places to stay in Norwich.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Cedar Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cedar Lodge Guest House

Address: 391 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Norwich
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Cedar Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cedar Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.