We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you want a city centre location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £77
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Midlands
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“OK if you want a city centre location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not one of the best of the Premier Inn chain hotels. Very close to the railway station so position is central. By the river and a busy traffic junction. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient. Had to ask for a second bath towel. I think most Premier Inn rooms usually have additional blankets but none were to be found in the middle of the night. Room heating was not working but there was a free-standing heater. Shower was poor and in need of updating. On the second floor corridor there is a continual hum, not sure if this is from air conditioning / heating but was constant day and night - and audible in the rooms. Continental breakfast was OK but we have had better in other Premier Inns. I always find it disappointing when it is advertised as a Costa experience but there is only filter coffee in jugs for breakfast....some Premier Inns have decent coffee machines providing coffee of much better qualityand more worthy of the Costa title.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    365
    82
    18
    15
See reviews for
181
368
58
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed for two nights for an event on the Saturday and chose the hotel purely for its location near the railway station. The entrance was, as others have said, not obvious. I was allocated a large double room with a good sized bathroom on the station side of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and the stay served its purpose well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

From the lovely helpful desk staff to the warm comfy rooms it was a brilliant place for a cheap stay. Close to the city centre clubs for youngsters and the Riverside Entertainment centre it ticks boxes for everyone. Opposite the station, it is a bit noisy but free parking onsite.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my visually impared friend and his guide dog. When we went for a meal we were sat in an area where the dog could lay down and not be in the way of staff and other customers and they even brought a bowl of water . Food was excellent and they even cut my friends steak up for him as requested so as he could manage it better. Nothing seemed too much for them . When we ordered beer it was brought in a pint glass with a handle for my friend so as he could hold it better and find it easier. All these little things made us feel that bit special.When we paid the bill we had 2 Drinks we wanted to take to the room so the waitress gave us a tray making it easier for us. At breakfast i was again given a tray to help getting our food. Made things much easier than juggling two lots of food. The dog was again given a bowl of water. From booking in to booking out every member of staff from receptionist to cleaner were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. Well done to all the staff and thank you for making our nights stay so relaxing

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I picked this hotel due to cost and location. Staff were very friendly, professional and welcoming. The food was excellent and they have good car parking facilities. I only have two gripes:- the corners and edges of the carpet in the bedroom were dirty, but the bathroom and beds were clean. Restaurant was very clean. The cost of the breakfast was a bit misleading. Children only eat free if you go for the more expensive option. If you want continetal as we did you have to pay just short of £4.00 for the child's breakfast. If you eat loads it is still good value but for the three year old, who I had with me who only wanted one buttered crumpet for breakfast £4.00 was a bit steep.

Room Tip: Sleep away from the river frontage as it is noisy, much quieter around the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just stayed for a couple of days and cannot fault this hotel and it's staff. From the moment we arrived, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the room overlooking the river was very comfortable and slept like a log.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good location with easy walking distance of the city.Close to the station too. Good friendly helpful staff. Reasonable rooms. Just mind for the noisy revellers coming in late. Can't blame the hotel for that though

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#8 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.