We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre to your Saves list
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £77
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I wanted a hotel in Norwich near the train station. This fitted the bill! A Sunday night cost only £34! The hotel is on the river and you can see the station from the hotel. The pedestrian entrance wasn't easy to find, but that's a small niggle. The hotel is clean and modern. Staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms are fine. Lovely comfy bed, nice clean bathroom, tv with freeview. There is wifi which is payable but you can get 30 minutes for free which is a nice touch.
The bar and restaurant were very pleasant and there was a good atmosphere.
I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    365
    82
    18
    15
See reviews for
181
368
58
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed for 24 hours and had lunch and breakfast. Good value, helpful and professional staff and a comfortable hotel. Recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river but it can be a little noisy at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here for 4 weeks while I was undertaking reasearch in Norwich. The hotel was very well located with the train station and town centre all close by. It has ample free car parking which is a great plus. The staff are helpful and courteus.

The rooms were more than adequate, clean and comfortable. Please ask for a river facing room as getting up and seeing a river outside our window is much nicer than seeing a car park. In fact the river is a bit of a treat!

Decent breakfasts. Fairly nice menu for luch and dinner (although I preferred having my evening meals in my room as the pub is attached to the restaurant - this is not a problem though as the restuarant and pub guests are kept seperate and have seperate seating areas). They also have a Costa Cafe on the premises. Furthermore since the town centre is so close by it was always possible for me to bring back a nice takeaway meal after my last meetings from one of many restuarants on Norwich's High Street (my favorite was a little Thai place). It is also possible to order food to be delivered to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is our first stay at a Premier Inn and we were very pleasantly surprised at the comfort and cleanliness of the room and bathroom. We had a view of the river and a small balcony which was an added bonus. The food, especially the breakfast, was excellent. Real value for money and therefore highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park and preferably on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great location, good free Parking, quiet Room.

Unfortunately the Weather was too bad for me to explore Norwich........ But I shall return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is our 6th stay at Norwich for a theater break at the royal. As always staff are friendly and helpful,rooms are clean and well appointed.Lift is a bit sticky on the doors mind,but have not got stuck in them yet!

Room Tip: Stay on rear of building by car park if you can as have found on previous trips noise from bars on w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I spend the best part of three days in this hotel. I was on a business trip and this hotel was provide by the company/ I was grateful as the room I was given was of the lake and the station, it was beautiful to see people in their boats and businesses working on their boats. The breakfast and meal was perfect. The hotel is quite and peaceful, the staff are helpful and friendly, I personally had no problems.

Room Tip: The lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#8 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.